Bacon Wrapped Goat Cheese Stuffed Dates

I have to admit, I have not been cooking a lot lately. I have just been too tired after work.

Before Thanksgiving my work had a potluck and I decided I had to make something! My mom mentioned how a friend from work always makes bacon wrapped cheese stuffed figs that are delicious. I decided to try something Β little different.

Bacon Wrapped Dates

I wasn’t really sure how the combination would work, but they were delicious!! I mean bacon wrapped anything is probably good.

I gathered all my ingredients.

Bacon Wrapped Dates

First you have to cut the dates down the center, but not all the way through. The middles are hollow, but they are sticky so it wasn’t the easiest.

Bacon Wrapped Dates

Next I stuffed them with the goat cheese. I might have overstuffed them, but I like cheese so it was fine.

Bacon Wrapped Dates

Now it was time for bacon! I cut the strips of bacon in half so I would have enough. Then I wrapped each stuffed date with the bacon.

Bacon Wrapped Dates

Some people said to secure them with toothpicks, but I just made sure the end of the bacon wrapped to the bottom.

Bacon Wrapped Dates

I loaded them onto a baking sheet lined with parchment paper and popped them in the oven.

Bacon Wrapped Dates

There was a lot of grease when they were done, but I transferred each one to a plate lined with a paper towel to soak up as much of the grease as I could. What’s bacon without a little grease at least.

I topped them off with some maple syrup.

They were a big hit at work and pretty simple to make. Definitely something I can whip together for an appetizer.

Bacon Wrapped Goat Cheese Stuffed Dates

Ingredients
1 lb pitted dates
4 oz goat cheese
1 lb of center cut bacon, sliced in half lengthwise
2 tbsp. maple syrup

Instructions
Pre-heat oven to 425 degrees.

Slice dates down one side, and open them up. Stuff with goat cheese. Close the halves of the dates, and wrap a half-slice of bacon around the outside. Secure each one with a toothpick. Bake for 20-25 minutes (until bacon is crispy). Arrange dates on a platter and drizzle a little maple syrup on top.

Leave a Reply

