Disney Avengers Half Marathon Costume: Baby Groot

Baby Groot Running Costume

So for the half marathon we all decided to dress up as Guardians of the Galaxy. I decided to be Groot, but not normal Groot….Baby Groot!

Baby Groot Running Costume

It took me a while to figure out how to make the “pot” that Baby Groot was potted in. Finally I thought of this old fabric/plastic laundry basket I had.

Baby Groot Running Costume

I cut the bottom out first. Then I cut it short enough to run in.

Baby Groot Running Costume

I got brown fabric from the craft store. I figured if I made it look like dirt at the top around my waist I could add elastic to hold it up.

Baby Groot Running Costume

I got the brown to match the top I got on Amazon.

Baby Groot Running Costume

I also got a leather looking brown fabric to make it look like roots on my top. Then I threaded through green yarn and some leaves.

For the hat I took paper towel rolls and brown paper and hot glued it all to an elastic band. Then I added leaves.

Baby Groot Running Costume

This is probably my favorite disney costume to date. I LOVED the way it came out and it was so unique!

One thought on “Disney Avengers Half Marathon Costume: Baby Groot

  1. Pingback: Weekly Round Up: December 15 | Mouse on the Mind

Leave a Reply

