Manayunk Bridge Trail

On Saturday I knew I had to go for a run. I laced up my shoes and headed outside. I had checked the weather before I left and it looked like a good running day.

Manayunk Bridge Trail

Sadly when I got outside it was raining! Not a hard rain, but rain nonetheless. I usually will not run in the rain, but I decided it might be a passing shower so I kept going downtown.

They recently opened the new Manayunk Bridge Trail and I wanted to check it out.

I got lost…but eventually found the entrance.

Manayunk Bridge Trail

Its at the bottom of High and DuPont, just an FYI.

Also the bridge is only open from 8:00am to 6:00pm in the winter.

Manayunk Bridge Trail

The bridge was really cool.

Manayunk Bridge Trail

It goes over Main Street in Manayunk and over 76.

Manayunk Bridge Trail

There were actually a lot of people out on the bridge, even in the drizzle.

Manayunk Bridge Trail

Manayunk Bridge Trail

On the other side of the bridge is the Cynwyd Heritage Trail. I never knew that it was there the whole time! The bridge was just the new way to get there without having to drive all the way around.

Manayunk Bridge Trail

The trail was really nice. There was a dirt trail on the side of the asphalt trail. There were bike riders, runners, walkers and lots of dogs out.

Manayunk Bridge Trail

Halfway down the trail was West Laurel Hill Cemetery.

Manayunk Bridge Trail

There are a few Laurel Hill Cemeteries in the area and they actually promote people running and walking through them. I was weirded out going through, but I took a picture inside. It’s really pretty.

Manayunk Bridge Trail

I decided to run to the end of the trail. It stopped raining and the map said the whole trail was only 2 miles long.

Manayunk Bridge Trail

At the other end was Cynwyd Station. I turned around there and ran back and from there to the bridge it’s only 1.8 miles.

Manayunk Bridge Trail

For shorter runs on the weekends I am definitely going to keep this trail in mind. It was so pretty with all the fall foliage.

Manayunk Bridge Trail

Now I have 3 cool trails right near me to run on! The possibilities are endless…

Leave a Reply

