Mediterranean Cruise: Venice, Italy

On Wednesday we arrived in our last port of call…Venice, Italy!

Venice, Italy

Sadly it was raining when we got there.

Venice, Italy

We had all day Wednesday in Venice and then we got off the boat on Thursday and had all day. We decided to wander around a little bit in the rain.

Venice, Italy

Venice, Italy

After a while we decided to call it quits. A lot of stores were closed in the rain, which was odd.

Venice, Italy

So we got some treats and headed back to the boat.

When we got back we had to finish packing. Our bags had to be out in the hall later that night for departure.

After dinner we went for the last time to the piano bar. Even though Cheryl was exhausted I made her stay with me until it closed. It was the last night!!

Venice, Italy

The next morning we got breakfast and then headed off the boat. I was sad to leave, but two weeks was a long vacation.

We took our bags on the people mover over to our hotel. We booked one right by the bus/train station.

After we checked in (our room wasn’t ready yet) we decided to walk around.

Venice, Italy

Luckily it was BEAUTIFUL out!

Venice, Italy

Venice was a lot cooler in the sunshine.

Venice, Italy

We stopped at a cafe and got a cappuccino.

Venice, Italy

There was also a ton of boats out. There we barely any the day before in the rain.

Venice, Italy

There was a lot of places to see.

Venice, Italy

Venice, Italy

Venice, Italy

Around lunch time we headed back to the hotel to check in.

Venice, Italy

We had walked a lot. My aunt, uncle and mom decided to stay at the hotel and relax. We had booked a tour of the Bell Tower (Campanile) so Cheryl and I took the boat bus back to San Marco Square.

Venice, Italy

I am so glad we did because the tour was awesome.

Venice, Italy

Venice, Italy

Venice, Italy

We learned all about how the clock used to work. It was so cool how these heavy weights moved all the pieces.

Venice, Italy

Then we went to the top of the clock tower.

Venice, Italy

Venice, Italy

Venice, Italy

After we walked back and visited the Rialto Bridge.

Venice, Italy

Venice, Italy

Then we headed back to the hotel. We had to take a gondola ride so we wandered around until we found someone.

Venice, Italy

Venice, Italy

I was literally petrified the entire time. I kept thinking the boat was going to flip!

Venice, Italy

Venice, Italy

After the gondola ride we took everyone back to Rialto Bridge.

Venice, Italy

It was getting late and we were all hungry and tired so we took the boat bus back to the hotel to eat dinner.

Venice, Italy

As we were finishing dinner it started to rain. Luckily we were next to the hotel. I slept ok that night. Not sure if I had gotten used to the boat rocking!

The next day we got up and took a bus to the airport. We got there early just in case.

Then we were headed home!

Venice, Italy

I had an AMAZING time in Europe.

Two weeks was a lot, but I am so glad I had the experience with my family. Based on my trip I HAVE to go back to Italy. It was my favorite and there is so much more for me to see!

Leave a Reply

