Running the Wissahickon Trail

One of my favorite things to do is run outside. I try to go as much as possible in the warmer months, because running in the cold sucks.

Now that I have moved to Philadelphia I have a lot more places to try running. On Saturday I went with Cheryl on the Wissahickon Trail.

It took us a little while to find the path to the trail. I have run along it before, but we usually drove to Bells Mills Road and parked to run. I saw there was a trail entrance by my apartment though.

Running the Wissahickon

We found a horse farm right by the trail entrance! Manayunk is so weird. It is a city/suburb/farmlands.

Running the Wissahickon

We had to walk down a path to get to the main trail. I would probably not go by myself because it might not be the safest alone, but I am also always paranoid.

Running the Wissahickon

It was about a half mile until we got to the main trail along the Wissahickon.

Running the Wissahickon

It was actually pretty quite down by where we were. Our original plan was to run to Bells Mills Road (about 3.5 miles way) and turn around. It was about 80 degrees when we started running, but it wasn’t too hot because of all the trees and shade.

Running the Wissahickon

After about 2 miles we found a waterfall! I didn’t even know it was there! We hiked down to take some pictures and take a breather.

Running the Wissahickon

We went back to the trail and started running and a bike rider came by and yelled something at me. I had my headphones in so I didn’t know what he said, but right behind him was a race! He was the lead bike and the front runners were behind him. I cannot believe I didn’t know there was a race going on.

Running the Wissahickon

There are a lot of other trails along the main trail that branch off. There is even a cool covered bridge!

We decided to only go 3 miles and then turn around and go back. The whole trail is very well maintained and there were a lot of people out running, walking and biking.

Running the Wissahickon

I definitely want to run here more often. It beats having to run on the treadmill or deal with cars and traffic on the streets.

Leave a Reply

