Brooklyn Flea and Smorgasburg

On Sunday I finally went to the Brooklyn Flea.

Brooklyn Flea

The flea is every Saturday and Sunday in Brooklyn. On Saturday it is located at For Green (176 Lafayette Avenue) and Sunday it is in Williamsburg (50 Kent Avenue).

Brooklyn Flea

I have to say I was pretty disappointed.

The website says there 100 vendors and 30 food vendors, but I think there were maybe 50 vendors total. I am not sure if it was because they called for rain, but I was hoping there would be more variety.

Brooklyn Flea

A lot of the flea was used items like furniture. I even found someone selling old Disney pins!

Brooklyn Flea

My favorite thing is vintage or rustic furniture, but the prices were so expensive!

Brooklyn Flea

A lot of booths really just had old crap. Toys, buttons, bottle caps. I understand that a lot of people are into that kind of stuff, but I was hoping for more hand crafted items.

Brooklyn Flea

There were also A LOT of records on sale.

Brooklyn Flea

Majority of the booths had vintage clothing. A lot of it was really great. Reminded me of Mad Men (which I am currently obsessed with) but it’s hard to buy old clothing without being able to try it on. It was also pretty pricey.

Smorgasburg

After we left the flea (we were there about an hour) we decided to head to Smorgasburg. It is also Saturday (in Queens and Williamsburg) and Sunday (at Brooklyn Bridge Park).

Smorgasburg

Smorgasburg was packed and had a ton of food vendors!

Smorgasburg

We decided to take a lap and see what kind of stuff they had. It was super hot out at this point. I was expecting rain so I wasn’t really dressed properly.

Smorgasburg

As we were walking we found a place with Mexican corn! Since Taco Riendo I have been craving it so we had to get some.

Smorgasburg

We decided to share stuff so we could try more. Next we got pesto garlic beer battered cheese curds. The dipping sauce was amazing!

Smorgasburg

After we decided to all get our own lunch. My mom got a gyro, Cheryl got a chicken burger and I got the most amazing chicken dog at Asiadog. I got the Wangding and I contemplated getting a second one it was so good.

Smorgasburg

At this point I was dripping with sweat (TMI sorry) and needed something to cool down. I saw Alchemy Creamery and decided to get a salted peanut butter push pop. It was tasty, but melted really fast.

Smorgasburg

Then we all shared some garlic pesto aioli fries from Home Frite. The dipping sauce was awesome!

We couldn’t take the heat any longer. We went and sat by the pier for a little and then decided to head home. We were stuffed!

Smorgasburg

As soon as we got into the car it started pouring! So glad we left when we did!

I will definitely be back at Smorgasburg. The food was amazing, there was a lot of variety and the prices were really reasonable (averaging $5).

If you are ever in Brooklyn on a weekend definitely check these places out. Take a walk across the Brooklyn Bridge too!

One thought on “Brooklyn Flea and Smorgasburg

  1. Pingback: Summer Bucket List Update | The Simple Things

Leave a Reply

