Baseball Hall of Fame

Cooperstown, NY is known for two things. Breweries and baseball!

We did the Cooperstown Beverage Trail on Saturday. On Sunday we went to the Baseball Hall of Fame.

Baseball Hall of Fame

The road in front of the hall of fame was under construction, but it was still open.

Inside the main entrance are statues of some of the most iconic baseball players (Lou Gehrig, Jackie Robinson and Roberto Clemente). The admission cost is reasonable. It’s $23, but you get your hand stamped so you can go in and out all day!

Baseball Hall of Fame

When we got inside the guide recommended that we start on the second floor. He said a movie was about to start so we headed into the theatre.

Baseball Hall of Fame

There were a lot of baseball teams inside already dressed in their uniforms. I liked how the place was decorated to look like the stands of a stadium.

Baseball Hall of Fame

The movie was ok. It had a little overview of baseball and why it is so iconic in American history. It didn’t really talk too much about the history itself, but that was the point of the museum!

Outside the theatre was the locker room. It was a huge room set up with lockers for each professional team. Each locker had a bunch of memorabilia for that team.

Baseball Hall of Fame

Then I started through the second floor of the museum. It was at this point that I lost most of my group. I am one of those people that needs to go through a museum by myself. I like to look at things at my own pace without feeling like I need to rush or slow down based on other people. Anyone else feel like that?

The museum started out by discussing the history of baseball. This was one of my favorite sections (and the one I spent the longest in). I just really like the old-timey stuff.

Baseball Hall of Fame

Baseball Hall of Fame

I loved looking at all the old equipment and documents. It’s crazy how long some of that stuff had been around!

Baseball Hall of Fame

The catcher face masks were crazy. Some looked like a cage on your face. I can’t imagine having played with some of the older equipment.

The next section was all about Babe Ruth.

Baseball Hall of Fame

I learned a lot in this section. I liked the way all the facts were set up on boards in chronological order.

Baseball Hall of Fame

I learned how Babe got his nicknames, about barnstorming and all about the life of Babe Ruth. It was really interesting!

Next I walked down learning about other old famous baseball players.

Baseball Hall of Fame

There were a lot of old pictures, clothing, equipment and documents. It was hard following along with some players because the team names have changed.

Next was the Women in Baseball section.

Baseball Hall of Fame

A League of their Own is one of my favorite movies. I think it’s crazy that women played baseball in skirts! The section was pretty small, but had a lot of memorabilia from the league and also from the movie.

The rest of the second floor talked progressively about newer baseball players. It ended with an empty section for the new inductees.

After the second floor I went up to the third floor. The museum was huge!

Baseball Hall of Fame

The upstairs section started with information about baseball stadiums.

Baseball Hall of Fame

Most stadiums give out souvenirs and this section showcased a lot of them. It also talked about each of the stadiums. A lot of them have had their names changed multiple times or even been rebuilt.

The mascot section was cool.

Baseball Hall of Fame

I found the Philly Phanatic!

Baseball Hall of Fame

They played the different team anthems and talked about how stadiums evolved over the years.

Next was a section about Hank Aaron.

Baseball Hall of Fame

The next section was about all the baseball records. It showcased who used to hold the record, who currently holds it and statistics about the difference.

Baseball Hall of Fame

It was definitely the best designed section. Typography in baseball!

At the end of this section was a case with all the World Series rings and pins. Each ring got larger by the year and had more diamonds!

Baseball Hall of Fame

After that was a little section to sit. It played “Who’s On First” by Abbott and Costello on a loop. That was one of my dad’s favorite skits.

Baseball Hall of Fame

Next was a gallery of photos. I am a huge photo buff so I was in this section for a while.

Baseball Hall of Fame

Baseball Hall of Fame

Then I headed down to the first floor.

There was another gallery, but this time it was ads and paintings. A lot were really cool!

Baseball Hall of Fame

Baseball Hall of Fame

Then the museum ended with the plaque gallery. It’s where I found all my friends!

Baseball Hall of Fame

I tried to look at a lot of the plaques, but there are so many!

Baseball Hall of Fame

Then of course there was the gift shop.

Baseball Hall of Fame

I really enjoy baseball. I am mostly a Phillies fan, but I really just enjoy hanging out with my friends watching the games.

I really enjoyed the Baseball Hall of Fame. I don’t think you have to be a huge baseball fan to appreciate the history and culture of the game. It took me about 2 hours to get through the museum and I didn’t even read everything! There was also supposedly a kid section I didn’t even see.

What is the difference between the American and National league?

2 thoughts on “Baseball Hall of Fame

Leave a Reply

