Drinking Through Cooperstown

Over the weekend I went to Cooperstown, NY with my friends for Mark’s birthday festivities.

We left New Jersey around 5:30pm. Jill and Mark were very prepared and got me Twizzlers! No road trip is complete without snacks.

Cooperstown

We made pretty good time and got to Cooperstown a little after 9pm. Unfortunately most restaurants stop serving food around 9:30pm so we went straight to get food when we got there. We ate at Bocca Osteria and the food was delicious! I got scallop risotto and of course a beer.

Cooperstown

After dinner we headed to our motel. We were staying at Lake N’ Pines Motel. The rooms were actually pretty large. We all went to one room and had some beers and hung out. I didn’t drink too much because I had a long day of drinking ahead of me.

Cooperstown

When I woke up in the morning I looked outside and the view was amazing! We were right on a lake!

Cooperstown

We got ready and then headed down to get some free continental breakfast. It was just bagels and cereal, but there was coffee so I was set. The view of the lake was so pretty. I only wish the trees were greener.

Cooperstown

At 10:30am our bus picked us up. I was glad Mark had decided to get a bus to drive us around. The places on the trail are far away from each other and NO ONE should ever drink and drive.

Cooperstown

First we went to Ommegang because we thought it opened at 11pm, but it didn’t open until noon. Instead we headed to Cooperstown Brewery. The bartender was rolling up as we got there so I went to check out the old trains while he set up.

Cooperstown

We all did the tasting (only $5) and then bought a few things. I felt really bad for the bartender. He was the only one there and we had a huge group. As we were leaving other groups came in so I am sure he was busy all day!

Cooperstown

After Cooperstown Brewery we headed back to Ommegang. We got there right before it opened which was good because there were more people waiting now. We luckily got onto the first tour and tasting (again only $5).

I was pretty bummed the Game of Thrones beer was not part of the tasting (or even on tap) but I found my throne of beers anyway.

Cooperstown

We were going to try and eat lunch at Ommegang, but there was a long wait. The bartender told us about a place called Council Rock Brewery that had good food so we headed there. The food was good, but it took FOREVER. We were there almost 2 hours! They did have Butter Beer which was delicious! It reminded me of the kind you can get at Universal. The food was also really good. I had sweet potato tots and a BLT which really hit the spot.

Cooperstown

Once we were finally done eating we headed to Fly Creek Cider Mill. It was more of a country store. I tried the cider, but just a small taste. It was a little too bubbly for me. I also sampled all the jams and jellies.

Cooperstown

After the Cider Mill we headed to our first winery. The sampling of 6 wines was only $3! We got some wine to take home too because my mom loves wine.

Cooperstown

After the winery we headed to the Cooperstown Distillery. It’s not technically part of the beverage trail, but the guys wanted to go. I loved the decor (rustic country) but the liquor samples did me in (luckily they were free). It was really nice stuff, but not something I should have had after a day of drinking beer.

Cooperstown

We only had the bus until 6pm so we headed back to the motel after the distillery. I was BEAT by then and decided to take a nap before getting dinner. I didn’t really sleep, but it was nice to rest for a little while. We headed downtown around 8pm to look for a place to get dinner. A lot of the places in Cooperstown are small or were closed. We finally found tables at Tunnicliff Inn. The food was great, but the place closed up early.

We found the only bar in Cooperstown open late. It was small, but it had pool and darts.

Cooperstown

We stayed there for a little and then went back to the room to drink. I did’t stay up too late. I am not one for being hungover or really tired the next day.

When we got up on Sunday it was just as beautiful out. I wish I could have stayed by this lake longer!

Cooperstown

After breakfast we checked out and then headed to the Baseball Hall of Fame. I am a baseball fan, but I love museums. I have to usually walk around alone though. I hate feeling like I need to rush or slow down based on other people. I struck off on my own pretty quickly and I really enjoyed the museum. The old timey stuff is always my favorite.

I don’t follow any specific teams, but I would consider myself a Phillies fan. I go to mostly Phillies games because all my friends are big fans.

Cooperstown

After the museum we got slices of pizza at one of the only places open in town. After that everyone split up. Some people went home, but we wanted to finish the beverage trail.

We went to Bear Pond Winery first. We did the tasting. I did mostly white wines since reds are more intense.

Cooperstown

After the winery we headed to the last brewery on the trail. It was pretty much diagonal from us and our GPS took us down a lot of back roads to get there. Our car was fine, but our friend Kristen was not happy that she was riding behind us in a cloud of dust. In the end we all got there in one piece!

Cooperstown

The last brewery was Butternuts Brewing Company. They are a small operation, but the beers were great! I love the names of the beers and the illustrations on the cans.

Cooperstown

Then we headed home! We got back round 7pm which wasn’t too bad.

It was a great weekend with my friends. I really liked Cooperstown. I would definitely go back and stay at that same hotel!

Leave a Reply

