Wobbling through NOLA!

How is it Thursday and I have yet to post about my recent New Orleans trip!?!

So last weekend Cheryl and I headed down to New Orleans to celebrate Laura’s bachelorette. My best friend Cindy went to college with Laura, which is how we know her. She is an amazing woman and I was so excited to help her celebrate!

I am really low on vacation days this year (I just love to travel) so I only took off Friday. Most of the other girls got down there Thursday night. Cheryl and I had a 10am flight from Newark. I was a little nervous about the flight. Some of the other girls told us about horrible turbulence. Luckily we didn’t hit anything until we were closer to Louisiana. We landed around 1pm (thanks time change) and headed downtown.

After we check in at the Prince Conti Hotel we headed down to meet up with everyone. We grabbed some drinks for the walk!

New Orleans

I love that you can just wander the streets of New Orleans with drinks. It makes it feel more like vacation!

We finally met up with everyone down at the French Market. There are a lot of vendors and local artists selling stuff. We got more drinks and I almost bought a mask. If only I had somewhere to wear it!

New Orleans

As we were walking back towards the hotels a guy on the street pointed out Brad Pitt’s house (on the left) and then we noticed an old haunted house that Nicholas Cage used to own (on right). We had heard about it on our ghost tour a few years ago! All the old buildings in New Orleans are so pretty.

New Orleans

We had an 8pm dinner reservation so everyone headed back to get ready. Cheryl and I grabbed some hand grenades from Tropical Isle to drink. When we were in NOLA 4 years ago we drank these things ALL DAY. I honestly don’t know how! They were soon sugary (and we got the “skinny” versions). I couldn’t even finish it.

New Orleans

Around 7pm we headed over to the hotel everyone else was staying at (Dauphine Orleans) to play some pre-party games.

New Orleans

The beautiful bride-to-be! Then we headed to dinner at Cafe Soule. The food was delicious!

Then we hit the town!

New Orleans

Friday night was our “dress up” night. I have been wanting to wear this dress for a while now and I was so glad I was able to! We went to a few different bars along Bourbon Street.

The first bar we went to a shot girl came around. She had shooter shots in her mouth and pretty much forced people to take them. A few people straight up said no multiple times and she kept trying! Then she asked us for money! We refused and left. She even tried to get the bouncers involved, but the girls said what happened and we went somewhere else. I noticed that a lot all weekend. These shot girls are really forceful!

We did teach everyone how to wobble though! It was the dance of the weekend.

Next we found a cool beer garden area where we hung out for a while. Laura had a “list” of tasks to accomplish and we got a lot done the first night.

New Orleans

I would tell you what they were, but what happens in NOLA stays in NOLA!

Later that bar had a club upstairs that opened so we went up. Then we did what EVERYONE does in New Orleans and went out on the balcony.

New Orleans

After we went inside to dance. The music was good at first, but then got too rap-centric for me. Cheryl, Cindy and I decided to head down the street to Bourbon Cowboy (more my speed). We stayed there until 2:30 or 3 and then headed back.

The next morning I woke up much too early. I wish I could sleep longer! We had an 11am brunch reservation, but since it was 9am Cheryl and I decided to head to Cafe Du Monde. It was raining and the line was CRAZY! Luckily I asked at the front and a server went and got us coffee and some beignets to go.

New Orleans

That line had to have been at least a 2 hour wait. Beignets are glorified funnel cakes, but delicious glorified funnel cakes!

We headed to the other hotel to get our bachelorette shirts for the day. Somehow the brunch place lost our reservation. Cheryl and Cindy suggested a place we went to the last time we were in NOLA and they had room for us at 12:30. We all decided to wander around and one of the girls mentioned a place with amazing Irish Coffee.

New Orleans

If you are ever in NOLA you MUST got to Erin Rose for the Irish Coffee! I am craving it right now!

We headed to The Court of Two Sisters for brunch. I love that place. It is buffet so you can eat a little bit of all the local favorites and it’s a jazz brunch so you get to hear local music.

New Orleans

I even had some crawfish again. I had to remember how to eat them, but they are pretty tasty!

After brunch we went back to the hotel to wait for the shuttle for our swamp tour. All of a sudden we hear a marching band and down the street strolls a wedding party!

New Orleans

New Orleans weddings seem so fun! They block off the road and a band marches your guests around the streets waving white napkins and dancing.

Our shuttle bus picked us up in front of the hotel. We got on and realized we were sharing the bus with a bachelor party from Boston (one point for Airboat Adventures). They were drinking when we got on and we told them we didn’t know you could! One of the guys convinced the driver to stop at the store so we could buy beer too.

New Orleans

I went on a swamp tour (with the same company) the last time I was in New Orleans and it was a lot of fun. We pretty much had the boat to ourselves except for two other small families.

New Orleans

It was even more fun because this time we got to drink!

New Orleans

The swamp area is so beautiful down there. I could probably ride around in a boat all day just relaxing.

New Orleans

We learned a lot about the swamp and the animals there. Then our guide showed us his alligator Gatorade and tried to wrangle one out of the water (unsuccessfully).

New Orleans

We even got to hold him!

New Orleans

About an hour and a half into the tour it started to rain so we started back towards the dock. Then it started to pour!

New Orleans

Of course we got soaked, but I still had a blast!

That night at dinner we got gator bites. It seemed appropriate.

New Orleans

Then we hit the town again. We headed down Bourbon Street and wound up in the most random bar.

New Orleans

There were guys dressed in (Chinese) drag, people dresses as pirates and also wearing inflatable sumo wrestler suits! Only in NOLA!

Then we headed to the end of Bourbon Street to get drinks at Lafitte’s.

New Orleans

It’s the oldest bar in New Orleans and also supposedly haunted. Sadly it also smells like vomit so we drank our Voodoo (purple drank) drinks outside.

After everyone got some drinks we decided to head to Frenchman Street. We had heard it had the best live music. I had not been there the last time I was in NOLA. Unfortunately we got lost on the way there, but we eventually made it.

New Orleans

The live music was amazing. The whole area was very “hipster” but a lot of fun as well.

After Frenchman Street we headed back toward downtown. Some people cabbed it, but we walked to Coyote Ugly. We were not there very long. After we headed back to Bourbon Street to meet up with some of the guys from the bachelor party. I was excited because they were in Bourbon Cowboy! Most of the girls didn’t like the music, but I was loving it :) We headed back that night around 3. Not sure how I was even still moving!

The next morning a lot of the girls had early flights. Cheryl and I really wanted to see the cemeteries so a few people decided to join us on the tour.

New Orleans

Our tour guide George was great. We found out before we went that you HAD to have a guide to visit the cemeteries in NOLA now. Lots of vandalism and theft.

New Orleans

We visited Cemetery #1, but there are hundreds of cemeteries all over NOLA. The reason they are famous is because they all have above-ground vaults since the water table is so high.

New Orleans

After the tour we had some time before we had to go to the airport so we got more Irish Coffee. Seriously addicting!

New Orleans

Then we got lunch and walked around the French Market more.

New Orleans

Cheryl and I were the last ones to leave. Our flight wasn’t until 7:50pm.

Before heading to the airport we decided to grab mufaletta sandwiches to eat at the airport. We found a place online that supposedly had the best so we ran in and ordered two and then went back to the hotel to get our shuttle. It wasn’t until we got to the airport we realized how HUGE the sandwiches were! They were as big as my head!

New Orleans

We cut one in half and split it and brought the other one home. It was good, but loaded with garlic. A New Orleans favorite!

The whole trip was a whirlwind. I felt like I was awake the entire time! If you ever have a chance to visit New Orleans you need to go!

Leave a Reply

