Book Review: Magicians Trilogy

I love to read, but I rarely have time for it.

Last year a friend suggested that I listen to podcasts while running. I thought I would hate it, but it actually made the time fly by. After that revelation I decided that maybe I would also enjoy listening to books on tape.

I started out with some classics I could get for free online. It made marathon training so much more enjoyable!

Then I noticed an online coupon for Audible. They had current popular audio books. The deal was for 3 months for $1. I figured it wouldn’t hurt and went hunting for books.

I finally decided on The Magicians by Lev Grossman. My friend Laura had read it and insisted I would like it. She was right.

Magicians Trilogy

The Magicians is a cross between Harry Potter and The Chronicles of Narnia in my opinion. In fact they frequently reference Harry Potter, so it’s not like it was written as a copycat book. The one main thing about these books, compared to Harry Potter and Narnia, is they are adult. VERY adult. There is foul language, sex, murder and so much more. To me it’s like Harry Potter cranked up to 10.

Book One: The Magicians
The main character is Quentin Coldwater. He is a high school senior and he is very smart. Quentin is also obsessed with a book series about a magical land called Fillory. Strangely Quentin finds himself being asked to go to a secret, exclusive college of magic in upstate New York. After some intense training Quentin finds himself to be a rather good magician. After graduation he discovers that the magical land he loved as a child is actually real and his adventures there are more than he ever could have imagined.

If you love magic and fantasy then this is a book for you.

I liked learning about magic in a new way. No wands allowed. Quentin spends a lot of time at his college, Brakebills, but it’s not a book about school or learning how to do magic. Once Quentin discovers Fillory is real, it gets really interesting. Can you imagine discovering something you wanted to be true for so long ACTUALLY being true. Quentin and his friends have a tough time at first in Fillory. Time does not work the same way there as it does on Earth. They are tested to see if they can become the kings and queens of Fillory, which is all Quentin has ever wanted, and in the end it turns into a test they never knew was possible.

Book Two: The Magician King
The second book of the series starts up two years after the first book ends. Quentin and his friends are the kings and queens of Fillory, but it can’t be a happy ending just yet. Something is wrong with magic and Quentin needs to set out on a quest to help save Fillory and all magic.

The second book was good. It started off a little slow, but eventually picked up pace once Quentin started on his quest. You learn that Fillory is a lot bigger than you might have imagined and Quentin needs to discover it’s secrets to try and save magic.

Book Three: The Magician’s Land
The last book starts off with Quentin fighting to figure himself out. He feels like he has lost everything and he is trying to put purpose back into his life. He takes a strange job that inevitably makes him face issues he had been trying to put behind him. In the end he has to choose where he wants to end up.

The last book was bittersweet. It brought a lot of characters together and tied up loose ends.

I found myself running outside and completely forgetting where I was because I was so engrossed in these books.

I really enjoyed the entire series. I liked they they were raw and had actual issues that the characters had to deal with. It might have been centered around magic and a magical land, but magic can’t solve all your problems.

***

This was my first attempt at a book review. I tried not to give away too much of the plot, but also not be too vague. Any suggestions would be appreciated!

Leave a Reply

