Ham and Mushroom Crustless Quiche – 4 PointsPlus

I am a huge fan of convenience. I live a hectic life and a lot of the time I find myself running around trying to get as much accomplished as I can.

I usually go to crossfit at 5:00am. By the time I get home I have to shower and get ready for work. I usually don’t have time to make an elaborate breakfast, and grabbing a granola bar does not hack it for me.

I love being able to cook something and pack it for a few days. That is why this Ham and Mushrooms Crustless Quiche is so great!

Ham and Mushroom Crustless Quiche

Not only is this a great simple recipe, but it’s easy too!

I got the original recipe from the Weight Watchers Make & Take Meals cookbook. It’s a new cookbook, but the recipes are great and pack friendly. I can make a batch of something and have it for a few days!

Ham and Mushroom Crustless Quiche

I got all my ingredients ready. I started by preheating my oven to 375 and throwing my frozen spinach in the microwave to cook.

Ham and Mushroom Crustless Quiche

First add olive oil to a skillet on medium-high heat.

Ham and Mushroom Crustless Quiche

While that warmed up I chopped my onions. I wish I knew a secret way to not cry while cutting onions. Anyone?

Ham and Mushroom Crustless Quiche

After chopping my onions, with tears of joy streaming down my face, I added them to my pan. After a few minutes I added the chopped up mushrooms to the pan as well.

Ham and Mushroom Crustless Quiche

While that was simmering I chopped up my ham and then added the ham to the skillet. I let everything cook for a few minutes.

Ham and Mushroom Crustless Quiche

While my onions, mushrooms and ham were sizzling on the stove, I started on the liquids. I added my eggs, egg whites, milk, ricotta (I couldn’t find fat-free so I used less low-fat), salt and pepper to a bowl. Once everything is in the bowl use a whisk to blend it all together.

Ham and Mushroom Crustless Quiche

Once the spinach is done cooking I took it out and put it on a paper plate. I am sure there are easier ways to do this, but then I used a lot of paper towels to pat the spinach dry. Make sure to let it cool down first.

Ham and Mushroom Crustless Quiche

Now you add everything to the egg bowl and mix it all together.

Ham and Mushroom Crustless Quiche

Spray a pie plate with nonstick spray and then fill the plate with the mixture. I spread it around to make sure all the spinach wasn’t clumped in one place.

Then put it in the oven for 35-40 minutes. Mine had to cook a little longer (maybe 45 minutes), but when it was done I took it out to cool.

Ham and Mushroom Crustless Quiche

Now cut it into 4 pieces and store in the fridge. It’s an easy way to make breakfast that you can just grab in the morning. It’s very filling and tastes great!

Ham and Mushroom Crustless Quiche
Serves 4 | 4 Weight Watcher PointsPlus per serving
176 calories, 6g fat, 12g carbs, 8g sugar, 3g fiber, 19g protein

Ingredients
2 teaspoons olive oil
1 small red onion, finely chopped
1 (8 ounce) package sliced mixed mushrooms
½ cup (2 ounces) diced lean reduced-sodium ham
2 large eggs
2 large egg whites
½ cup fat-free milk
1 cup fat-free ricotta
¼ teaspoon salt
¼ teaspoon black pepper
1 (10 ounce) package frozen chopped spinach, thawed and squeezed dry

Directions
Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Spray 9-inch pie plate with nonstick spray

Heat oil in large skillet over medium-high heat. Add onion and cook, stirring occasionally, until softened, about 5 minutes. Add mushrooms and cook, stirring until mushrooms soften and liquid has evaporated, about 5 minutes. Stir in ham.

Whisk eggs, egg whites, milk, ricotta, salt and pepper in a large bowl until blended. Stir in mushroom mixture and spinach. Pour into pie plate.

Bake until top is golden and knife inserted in center comes out clean, 35-40 minutes. Let stand 10 minutes. Cut into 4 wedges.

What is your favorite breakfast food?

Leave a Reply

