Throwback Thursday – San Francisco Then and Now

When my parents got married in 1975 they went on a cross-country road trip honeymoon. I have seen pictures before of a few places they visited like the Grand Canyon, Las Vegas and San Francisco. I had only seen one of two photos they had gotten printed, but after my most recent PhotoBin shipment I have so many more!

When we visited San Francisco in March my mom kept mentioning things she remembered from when she was there in 1975. Now I have pictures to compare and contrast how different, but also the same it was. The craziest thing is how many pictures we had taken in almost the exact same spots that my dad did in 1975!

San Francisco Then and Now

San Francisco Then and Now

My parents didn’t walk across the Golden Gate Bridge like we did, but they did venture to both sides.

San Francisco Then and Now

Seriously though…how adorable is my mom!

San Francisco Then and Now

They went to the top of Lombard Street. I love seeing the street in 1975 with all the old cars compared to recently.

San Francisco Then and Now

If anyone ever wondered if the infamous cable cars were the same, they are. Except maybe the billboards on the side have changed a little.

San Francisco Then and Now

Chinatown looks the same too.

San Francisco Then and Now

One thing I knew my parents had done was visit Alcatraz. It was number one on our list of things to do, but I wish I had seen some of the photos beforehand. I would have gotten a picture of the three of us on the top of the boat! Especially since we also traveled there on the Eureka!

San Francisco Then and Now

Alcatraz did not become a national recreation area until 1972. It wasn’t considered a national historic landmark until 1986. When my parents were there it had yet to be completely renovated for tourism, so they got to see the grittier Alcatraz.

San Francisco Then and Now

San Francisco Then and Now

My parents also got to visit parts of the prison that are off limits to tourists now. My mom had mentioned that when we were there. She got to go pretty much anywhere she wanted in 1975. In the next picture it looks like she is in some kind of basement, but I love the lighting. Cheryl took a similar picture with the lighting in March.

San Francisco Then and Now

Even the view outside is relatively the same.

San Francisco Then and Now

One thing I noticed is the condition of the buildings.

San Francisco Then and Now 13

They used to be a nice white color, and there used to be a lot more to them. The preservation of the area is amazing, but with time things get older looking.

San Francisco Then and Now

And lastly the ONE picture of my dad in San Francisco. He was always behind the camera.

I’m not young, but I am also not old. I remember taking pictures when I was younger. You took a photo not knowing what it was going to look like. You didn’t see until you got the film developed. I cannot imagine my parents. They took everything and then they were made into slides. Then you had to load them into a projector to see the pictures. My dad was pretty great at taking pictures. All these came out amazing!

Leave a Reply

