Holiday Season Entertaining with Kahlúa and Elsie and Emma of A Beautiful Mess

So even though it’s Thursday there is no way I can do a Throwback Thursday post because I am just too excited to recap my night last night!

Kahlua and A Beautiful Mess Event

So yesterday Cheryl emailed me saying that she got invited to an event that night in New York. It was being sponsored by Kahlúa Holiday and Elsie and Emma from my favorite blog A Beautiful Mess were going to be there! I rearranged my second job and after work headed into the city. Cheryl was also going to attend, but she had a prior commitment to another event that didn’t end until 7:30 and this started at 7:00. She asked if  I could go to the event so that we could cover the whole thing and they said yes! Before I left I whipped up some blogger business cards just in case.

Kahlua and A Beautiful Mess Event

The event was being held at Haven’s Kitchen in New York City. I got there a little early so I walked around for a few minutes since most New Yorkers are always late. I got there at 7:00 and headed upstairs.

Kahlua and A Beautiful Mess Event

The space was very open and bright. They had a bar set up and two signature drinks for us to try out.

Kahlua and A Beautiful Mess Event

I honestly didn’t even realize Kahlúa came in different flavors! I tried the Spiced Russian first because I am still on a pumpkin kick. It was delicious! Later in the night I also tried the Peppermint Mocha Espresso Martini. It was a lot lighter than the Spiced Russian, but equally delicious.

Kahlua and A Beautiful Mess Event

They also had a spread of some hors d’oeuvres. I tried the ricotta crostini and squash fritter. They were so good! I had to stop myself because I knew I would eat way too much.

I am not the most outgoing person, but since I was there alone I sucked it up and tried connecting with some of the other guests there. There were people from a bunch of magazines and websites. I even struck up the courage to go and talk to Elsie and Emma. I felt like such a fangirl at the event. I read their blog EVERY DAY so to meet them was like meeting a celebrity to me. Most of the DIYs I attempt I either got from their blog or got inspired by something they did. I really don’t know how they come up with such awesome ideas day after day!

After a little while we all went to tables set up with a lot of drink ingredients. Emma told us about some quick and easy entertaining favors you can give guests during the holidays. The Kahlúa hot cocoa (with marshmallows) and mug idea is definitely something to try.

Kahlua and A Beautiful Mess Event

The first drink we made was the Peppermint White Russian. First we dipped the top of the glass in honey and then swirled it in crushed peppermint to make a peppermint rim. Then we added ice to the glass. Next we added 1 oz. Kahlúa, 2 oz. vodka, 1 oz. cream and then stirred it together. It was a regular White Russian, but the peppermint rim really made an awesome taste experience. The spiced russian I had when I got there was made the same way, but instead of regular Kahlúa they used the Pumpkin Spice Kahlúa and no peppermint rim obviously.

Kahlua and A Beautiful Mess Event

Next we made a fun tropical/winter drink thought up by Elsie and Emma called Cinnamon Girl. In a shaker we added 1 oz. Kahlúa, 1 oz. coconut rum, 1/2 tsp. cream of coconut, juice from 1/2 an orange (or 1/2 oz. orange juice), 5-6 oz. pineapple juice and an 1/8 tsp. of cinnamon. Add ice and use a glass to shake it all together. Then I poured it into a glass over ice and garnished with an orange and cinnamon stick. OMG it was so delicious! It was like a tropical drink you would get on vacation, but something you could also drink for Thanksgiving with the cinnamon flavor.

Kahlua and A Beautiful Mess Event

They were all so good I didn’t know which Kahlúa drink to have. I kept rotating between them, but my favorite was the Cinnamon Girl because it wasn’t as strong.

After the Kahlúa Holiday portion they cleaned up the tables and I got a chance to chat with Elsie and Emma about the blog and their Habitat for Humanity house construction. I’m not sure, but I think I might have been the only one there that reads their blog religiously (or at least freaking out inside that I got to meet them). I told them how much I loved their new store and how I ironically just did one of the DIYs the day before (post coming soon). Elsie even grabbed my business card! FYI both the gifs above were made using their Party Party app, which I use all the time.

Kahlua and A Beautiful Mess Event

The next potion was crafting and I mean crafting with the two people who I daily get crafting inspiration from….mind=blown! We were going to learn how to make our own designed napkins/tea towels.

First we used foam and cut out shapes we wanted to use. Then we attached the shaped to another piece of foam to make a stamp. Next we used puff paint to stamp our napkins. I put a little bit on paint onto the stamp and then used another piece of foam to spread it out and coat the stamp evenly. My original idea was a herringbone pattern, but that would have taken forever, so I decided to just do two edges.

Kahlua and A Beautiful Mess Event

Cheryl was a lot more ambitious and did a chevron pattern. It came out so good! She is a perfectionist like me. I did my second napkin with diamonds and triangles in red and gold.

Kahlua and A Beautiful Mess Event

The whole time we were crafting Elsie and Emma kept walking around to talk to everyone and see how we were doing. They are just so nice. I seriously felt like a crazy stalker because I kept bringing up their blog, but then I thought “who cares” I am a fan and I am going to get as much out of this experience as I can. I hope I wasn’t too crazy chatty.

Kahlua and A Beautiful Mess Event

Ta-da! My finished products! It was so simple to make these I might have to try more and be a little more ambitious like Cheryl was. Once they dry they are machine washable and such a cute accent to any home.

Thank you to Kahlúa and Elsie and Emma from A Beautiful Mess for hosting such a great event and letting me go! Maybe one day (a long time from now) I will have a successful blog like they do! I would recommend both of the drinks I made and if you don’t read their blog you should definitley check it out!

——-

Please drink responsibly this holiday season! You must be 21 years old to enjoy Kahlúa.

3 thoughts on “Holiday Season Entertaining with Kahlúa and Elsie and Emma of A Beautiful Mess

  1. Oh mannnnn I can’t believe you got to meet Elsie & Emma! I’m really not a DIY person at all but I love looking at their blog because it’s just so pretty … and they have delicious recipe ideas quite often. SO COOL

    Like

  2. Pingback: Instagramming November | The Simple Things

  3. Pingback: Cheers to 2014! | The Simple Things

Leave a Reply

