RU Rah Rah

So this weekend was the second Rutgers home game, but the first Rutgers Big 10 game. Of course the game was against Penn State. A lot of my friends (including my best friend Cindy) went to PSU, so I knew there would be a lot of rivalry happening.

In the morning Cheryl, Aaron, Christine and I ran the R.O.C Race. It stands for Ridiculous Obstacle Challenge Race. It was in Brooklyn so we went to Hoboken early to get breakfast and wait for Aaron and Christine. I got the turkey sausage, egg white and spinach flatbread at Panera. It was amazing.

Panera Turkey Sausage, Egg White and Spinach Flatbread

After we got Aaron and Christine and headed to Brooklyn. The drive was fine until we got near the area and then the traffic got bad. We got there around 11:00am for our 11:30am start time. We checked our bag then headed to the start area. Then we waited…and waited…and waited. Finally around 12:00 they started letting the 11:30 people go. One of the obstacles broke or something.

They let each wave of 75 people go every 5 minutes. I thought it was a little too spaced out since we felt like we were running alone after we started. The run was fun, but it was cold and there was a lot of water obstacles which soaked my shoes. I should have pictures later this week.

After we drove back to Hob0ken and showered and got ready for the game. Our friends had gotten there at 11:00am so we had a lot to catch up. Cheryl and I left first and parked downtown then Aaron and Christine picked us up and drove to the lots since they had a parking pass.

Rutgers Girls

It was cloudy in the morning, but started raining on the way down. I was fine in the rain most of the time. I had my Disney poncho and Spencer bought us cute pink Rutgers hats.

Pink Hats

We headed to the game around 7:30pm. Since it was their first Big 10 game it was packed and security took forever. Finally we got to our seats. We are in the alumni section so right next to the (very rowdy) student section.

Rutgers Stadium

I think it was the greasy food I had at the tailgate, but I felt sick during the game. It usually happens when I drink draft beer, but sometimes when I eat greasy foods. Luckily I had a cushion seat where my seat was, but to see the game I had to stand up.

Rutgers was doing amazing. They were up 10-0 at halftime.

Rutgers Band

Then the game started taking a turn for the worse. The stands were CRAZY with yelling and chanting and stuff.

Rutgers vs PSU

After 2 field goals by Penn State the game was 10- 6. Then in the last 3 minutes Penn State scored a touchdown (then kicked it) to make the score 10-13 winning the game. It was the first time I was in a section of people that thought they were going to win, only to loose at the end. The dejected faces of people (especially my friends) made me so sad :(

It was an 8pm game so it wasn’t over until midnight. Then unfortunately Cheryl and I had to wait in bus lines to get downtown to get our car. Needless to say it was a LONG day, but definitely a lot of fun (even though Rutgers lost).

Hope they do better next time!

One thought on “RU Rah Rah

  1. Pingback: Instagramming September 2014 | The Simple Things

Leave a Reply

