Long week

I can’t believe it is only Thursday! I feel like this week has been dragging….

Traffic

Monday was a rest day from running, but I still dragged my ass out of bed to go to crossfit at 5:30am. We had to do box jumps and I was having problems. Something is up with my hip, but only doing box jumps. It doesn’t hurt at all when I am running or during the day, but when I try to spring up onto the box I get a weird ache. Wendy gave me some stretches so let’s hope it works itself out.

This week Cheryl and I have been making some recipes from SELF‘s new detox. THIS SMOOTHIE!

Coconut Almond Smoothie

It is delicious! I have had it two days in a row now and I can see myself including it into my weekly meals. 1 cup unsweetened almond milk, 1 frozen banana, 1 tbsp almond butter, 1 tbsp chia seeds, 1 tbsp cocoa powder, and a little ice. Mix it all up and top with 1 tbsp unsweetened coconut flakes. Delicious!

Tuesday I went running with Jill after work. Even though it seemed like it would pour any second we still did it and missed out on the rain. I always tend to talk when I run with anyone other than Cheryl. I try to use the run as catch-up time, but man does it tire me out!

For dinner I decided to finally cook something new. I made Chicken Zucchini Noodle Pad Thai and it was awesome.

Chicken Zucchini Noodle Pad Thai

Unfortunately I had a little accident in the kitchen and burned my arm with the pan. Ouch!

Burn

Yesterday I woke up for crossfit again. It really is the one thing that can get me out of bed at a ridiculous time in the morning. I just feel so great after! At lunch I decided to do my 3 miles on the dreadmill. It has been so hot in the gym I finally decided to suck it up and wear shorts.

Shorts

Cheryl just got a new pair from work which I immediately stole. They were ok to run in, but I still feel so blah in shorts this year.

I listened to my new favorite podcast, Jillian Michaels, and the time flew by.

Jillian Michaels Podcast

My watch also stopped acting up! Still need a faster pace, but for now this works.

3 miles

My coworker Laura discovered Gummy Dinos! How adorable are these things!?! I didn’t want to eat them, but I love gummies.

Dino Gummies

After I decided I needed a healthier snack before my second job so I had carrots and guacamole. Don’t knock it until you have tried it! I am a big fan of the greek yogurt guacamole. Anyway I had a giant chunk of avocado in my guac. Score!

Avocado

Which finally brings me to today….9/11

I seriously cannot believe it has been 13 years! I can really remember like it wasn’t that long ago. Living in New Jersey, with the skyline visible from most places by me, it was terrifying. We didn’t know what to do. All we wanted to do was try and help. I had a lot of kids I went to school with that had parents that worked in the city and some in the towers. Luckily no one I was close with was affected, but it was still a very scary time. The idea that Cheryl will be moving into the new building next year still freaks me out.

World Trade

I was able to visit Ground Zero a few weeks ago when I went into the city. There is still a lot of construction going on and a crazy amount of police everywhere. We will never forget…

Leave a Reply

