Running on empty

So this morning I woke up at 5:30am to get to the gym to run the 6 miles I was supposed to run yesterday. Unfortunately I didn’t prepare myself last night so I left a lot later than I wanted and didn’t get to the gym until 6:40am!

I don’t know about you but I absolutely despise running on the treadmill. I have come to call it the dread mill because I hate it so much. Speedwork is pretty had to do not on a treadmill though so I had to suck it up. Unfortunately today was an abysmally humid day and the gym felt like it was 1000 degrees.

Not sexy

I started with a 1 mile warm up pace of 6.0 on the treadmill. When I ran the other day I noticed my watch kept bouncing between a bunch of crazy number…10:34 pace then 9:23 then 11:15. I disregarded it, but today it really showed. After my mile warm up I started what was supposed to be 4 miles at 8:38 pace. Ya no. I was running at a 7.0 on the treadmill, but my watch kept saying I was running a 10:20 pace! NOT POSSIBLE!

I could not sustain the 7.0 pace for 4 miles with the humidity of the gym. So I would run at 7.0 for .75 miles then walk to cool off the last .25 before going again. Since I was so late I was running out of time before I had to be in work so I ran a cool down mile at the end and finished 5 miles.

Running watch issues

So the dread mill said I went 5.65 miles in 57:26 which would be a pace of 10:09 which was nowhere near where I should have been but definitely not a 11:30 pace my watch was saying.

I am doing a 13-miler on Sunday outside so I hope synching with the gps will get my watch back to normal. It might also be the shoe pod battery running out? Who knows but not getting an accurate pace is annoying.

Leave a Reply

