It’s that time of year!

No not fall or even the start of school…it’s running season!

This is seriously my favorite time of year. The weather (most of the time) is the perfect running temperature. Even though right now it’s humid as hell out. Give it a week or two. I am not a fan of the fall so much in terms of leaves changing (even though I love stepping on crunchy leaves) but let me run and not feel like I am running on the surface of the sun and I am a happy girl.

Running season also coincides with a bunch of the best fall races. It also is when I do most of my major races.

This year, like every other year, I will be running the Philadelphia Rock and Roll Half Marathon. It is my favorite race because I love running in Philly and the course is perfect to PR and gauge your running. Since this will be my 7th year running it, I can compare all my past years with my fitness. The first year I ran it was 2008 with a time of 2:21:43. My fastest time was in 2010. I ran it in 1:56:49 (my fastest half marathon time ever). I have progressively gotten slower the past few years. Blame it on not training properly or life just getting in the way.

No time for that

This year I decided I wanted to run in under 2 hours once again. It is going to be a HUGE undertaking since it is literally 3 weeks away and I just ran the Sea Wheeze Half Marathon in 2:22:41

Then in November I will be running my first Philadelphia Marathon. I want to try and run that in under 4 hours. All my dreams! My fastest marathon time was the Washington DC National Marathon in 2010 (2010 was my best running year) I finish in 4:21:42.

So for the next few weeks you will be seeing a lot more running posts. I think it helps me hold myself more accountable when I write what I SHOULD be doing and what I ACTUALLY do.

Marathon Meme

Cheryl signed up for the Runner’s World Pace Calculator. It used to be free, but now you have to pay for it. We downloaded a program to run a sub 2 hour half on September 21st and then another program to run a sub 4 hour marathon on November 23.

Yesterday I was up early to bring my car to the shop (routine oil change and alignment) but I ate my breakfast bar there at 7:15am. I was STARVING by the time I left around 8:30 to go to work. So I stopped at Dunkin Donuts and got a pumpkin spice iced coffee (sad cookie dough is gone with summer) and a turkey sausage breakfast flatbread. I even sadly splurged on the hash browns. They are just too tasty to pass up!

Pumpkin Coffee at Dunkin Donuts

For lunch I had a Lean Cuisine. The Asian Style Potstickers are my favorite!

After lunch I waited a little to digest then went to the gym near my work. I am only a member of Retro Fitness and my crossfit gym now. I did 3 miles at a 9:57 pace, showered and then headed back to work. I was going to run outside but man was it humid!

After work I had my second job until around 8:30. For dinner I had beef stew. My food wasn’t horrible, but I can do better. I have to start making my breakfast and lunch the night before. I used to be a pro at it but I have been slacking recently.

Today was a little better. Cereal with a banana for breakfast, a salad (with avocado and black olives yum) for lunch and probably salmon for dinner. I am supposed to run 2 miles at a 10:06 pace today. Going to try and get to the gym now to fit it in!

Ryan Gosling Running

Happy Running!

 

Leave a Reply

