A look back in time at Korea during the Vietnam War

So last week I finally got some old slide back from PhotoBin. They converted them to digital for me. Now I sent 350 slides, but it was pretty difficult to figure out what they were pictures of since they are so small. While going through the slides I found a bunch that were a different color (grey casing) and noticed a lot had landscapes and some military. I assumed they were pictures from when my dad served in Korea during the Vietnam War.

Well the images when they came back are amazing. It’s time like this I wish my dad was still alive so he could tell me about where they were taken and the little details he remembered from them. I do know my dad was a helicopter mechanic. He went through regular basic training, but then was recruited to fix the helicopters. That meant he ended up in Korea instead of on the front line. He said almost all the guys he went through training with that went to Vietnam died. Since I have no idea where any of these were taken I figured this will mostly be an image post. Enjoy!

These I assume are from the base.

Korea during the Vietnam War

Korea during the Vietnam War

Korea during the Vietnam War

Korea during the Vietnam War

Korea during the Vietnam War

Korea during the Vietnam War

My dad also got a chance to go to the ocean. He was always the one behind the camera so to see pictures of him this young is so bittersweet.

Korea during the Vietnam War

Korea during the Vietnam War

A lot of these pictures are of the city/town they were near. Not sure if any are famous landmarks.

Korea during the Vietnam War

Korea during the Vietnam War

Korea during the Vietnam War

Korea during the Vietnam War

Korea during the Vietnam War

 

Korea during the Vietnam War

These show the poverty like conditions people were living in.

Korea during the Vietnam War

Korea during the Vietnam War

 

Korea during the Vietnam War

Korea during the Vietnam War

Fields as far as the eye can see. Complete with an ox plowing them!

Korea during the Vietnam War

Korea during the Vietnam War

Korea during the Vietnam War

Korea during the Vietnam War

Then my dad wound up on some mountain to get a better view of the city.

Korea during the Vietnam War

Korea during the Vietnam War

Korea during the Vietnam War

And finally my dad found the racetrack. That man loved going to the racetrack until the day he died. Who knows…maybe this is where he fell in love with it!

Korea during the Vietnam War

Korea during the Vietnam War

Korea during the Vietnam War

Korea during the Vietnam War

Korea during the Vietnam War

Korea during the Vietnam War

If anyone knows where any of these pictures were taken please let me know!

Leave a Reply

