Friday Favorites

Happy Friday! I am off to Washington D.C. today with my sister Cheryl and my cousins. They have been wanting to visit DC for ages, but our schedules have not coordinated. We FINALLY nailed down a date, and even though it’s a Friday in summer I think we will still have a blast. Less people than Saturday at least right!?!

Favorite Food: Grilled Chicken, Bacon and Avocado Melts with Sun Dried Tomato-Basil Mayo
It’s no secret how much I love Iowa Girl Eats. Her family is adorable and her recipes are amazing! I have tried a few, but this sandwich has just moved to the top of my must list!

Grilled Chicken, Bacon and Avocado Melts with Sun Dried Tomato-Basil Mayo

Favorite Design: Disney Parks Tower of Terror Poster by Disney Design Group
The Twilight Zone Tower of Terror is my all-time favorite Disney ride. Well it celebrated it’s 20th Anniversary! I love this design by Tyler Dumas. I hope it appears on a shirt or something. I mean I already bought the anniversary shirt!

Tower of Terror Poster

Favorite Trick: Reece’s S’Mores
How have I never tried this before!?! I made my first (and second, and third..) while camping last weekend and FYI they are AMAZING! I kind of want to go camping again just to have more. Let’s be for real though. I might make these over the grill in the backyard soon.

Reece's S'Mores

Favorite DIY: Learn Calligraphy
I won! It wasn’t much but I did a survey for Whimseybox and I won $25 to shop. So I went straight to the website and found a monthly kit from before I joined. I love how calligraphy looks and this kit is going to teach me how to do it! I can’t wait for it to arrive.

DIY CalligraphyFavorite App: Party Party
After the success of their A Beautiful Mess picture app, they have done it again! Elsie and Emma just launched a new app Party Party. This app is like a photo booth in your pocket. You can set the amount of pictures to take and also how long in-between shots. I tried it out for the first time yesterday with Laura while sitting in traffic on our drive home. The synchronized faces weren’t even planned haha. Can’t wait to use it again!

Party Party

Favorite Music: Weird Al
Have you heard about Weird Al’s #8days8videos initiative? It was to promote his new album Mandatory Fun. Well I have always loved Weird Al, but these new videos and songs are fantastic! It’s hard to pick a favorite, but as a designer I know how hard it was to make the Word Crimes video and I am obsessed with it…and it’s an awesome song. You really should just got watch them all.

Favorite Blog: Runs for Cookies
Ever come across a new blog and go “wow this is so me”. Well that is what happened when I discovered Katie at Runs for Cookies. I have been following her blog on Feedly for a few weeks now and her story and how she keeps up with running even with a hectic life is so motivational. The one thing that really hit home for me though was yesterday. I had been recently told to try listening to podcasts while running. In a recent post she mentioned how she had just done a podcast with Half Size Me. So I downloaded the Podcast app and her podcast was the first one I downloaded. Yesterday during my 4 mile run on the treadmill I figured I would listen. WOW. I felt like we were living the same struggle. She is in maintenance mode (like me), but recently had a death of a close friend (I lost my dad last year) so she gained some weight back (ditto) and was working on taking it off again. Everything they talked about (guilt, anger, who-gives a crap attitude) I felt like I could relate. It really made me appreciate how open she is a lot more. One day I strive to have a blog that motivates and helps other people.

Runs for Cookies

Leave a Reply

