Kayaking in the Catskills

So in April we went hiking in the Catskill mountains. My friend Cindy is always getting me and Cheryl outside on adventure. Last month Cindy asked if we wanted to go kayaking. I had never been kayaking before and I always wanted to try it so I was up for the challenge. She wanted to go somewhere in the Catskills again so she researched places we could go and rent kayaks.

She finally found a place called Al’s Sport Shop in Downsville, NY. We would be kayaking on the East Branch of the Delaware River by the Pepacton Reservoir. We decided to leave in the morning so that we could get to the dock and start early. We weren’t sure what the weather was going to be like so we brought jackets to layer just in case. I also finally got to try out my new Keen Uneek shoes that Cheryl got me from work.

When we got there we went inside and purchased day kayak rentals. $30 for the whole day! They had Cheryl drive our car down to the end which was quite a drive. Once she was back we geared up and headed down to the water. They told us just to grab whatever canoes we wanted to use. It was a little cold still so I kept my jacket on. Everything else I had left in the car. Cheryl and Cindy both brought bags and Cheryl put her phone in a ziplock just in case.

Getting the hang of kayaking took a few minutes, but I got it pretty quickly. The water and the weather was gorgeous! Right when we got on the water we saw a family of ducks floating around. Cindy paddled closer to get a picture. Cheryl and I decide to take a selfie then Cindy joined in.

After about 10 minutes I started to get hot so I took off my jacket and put on sunscreen so I wouldn’t burn. After I got prepped I was ready to kayak!

The water was pretty calm and the current wasn’t too bad. We would stop every once in a while and put our feet up and just float. The weather could not have been more perfect.

Further down the river it got narrower and more “woodsy”. As we were paddling Cindy noticed a bald eagle flying overhead! It was so majestic. She tried to get a picture, but it wasn’t very clear. Some spots had little rapids where Cindy taught me how to see where rocks were to avoid them. I don’t know if I would ever be able to go over crazy rapids.

Half way down the river we decided to stop and eat and rest. We found this cute rock island area so we got out and had some KIND bars. Cindy was smart and brought two mason jars of wine. A family showed up after a while which was annoying, but we ignored them and pretended we were the only ones there.

It took us about 3 hours to get down the river. A lot of the time I would just float. I loved just looking around at nature and all the little houses along the river. Sometimes you could see the road and sometimes it was just the wilderness. We saw fisherman, other people kayaking, it was really fun. We only hit one snag of a very shallow rock area we had to shimmy and use our paddles to get back to the main river flow. Other than that it was easy sailing.

Kayaking was a lot of fun and a great workout. I really felt it in my arms the next day. I can’t wait to go again!

After we were done kayaking we had to bring the kayaks up to the shop. I was terrified of falling out of the canoe the whole time, but never had an incident. Of course as I am trying to get out of the canoe I fall. It wasn’t too bad, but I know for next time.

After kayaking we went to the nearby town of Downsville, NY to eat. I wanted to find a place with trout since it’s “Trout Town USA” but instead we found a cute pizza place and got salads and sandwiches. Perfect end to a perfect day!

2 thoughts on “Kayaking in the Catskills

  1. Pingback: Catskills Cabin | The Simple Things

  2. Pingback: Cheers to 2014! | The Simple Things

Leave a Reply

