Juice Cleanse vs. Green Smoothie Cleanse – The Results

So yesterday was the last day of our juice and green smoothie cleanse. It was interesting to see how well we could handle temptation. Cheryl did 3 days of the Blueprint Cleanse and I did 3 days of the 10 Day Green Smoothie Cleanse. Let’s see how we did!

Cheryl’s Blueprint Juice Cleanse Review
It’s finally over! I must say doing a juice cleanse is not as hard as I thought it was going to be. When I started on this little adventure I thought that I would be ravenous and wanting food all the time, but that was definitely not the case. The first day was the hardest as I had to get used to the taste of the juices and the feeling of only liquid in my stomach, but after that it was smooth sailing. I’m pretty sure I could do this again and for longer.

That being said I spent all day yesterday deciding what I wanted for lunch and dinner today :) I had kickball yesterday and I was kind of nervous since I hadn’t eaten solid food in 3 days and running around a field seemed like a lot, but we only played 2 innings (where we were kicking butt!) and had to call the game because of the rain. I went back to the bar with my teammates and continued the party by playing flip cup with water. I was NOT going to ruin this cleanse on my last day by drinking.

Last night I had my last juice and went to sleep. This morning when I woke up and weighed myself I had lost 5 pounds! (5.2 to be exact) Jessi and I had toast with peanut butter and then went to Crossfit. Also probably a bad idea since we hadn’t had solid food in 3 days but we both did fine.

Final Thoughts: Doing a juice cleanse is not that hard. I don’t feel particularly cleansed in any way (maybe I have to do it for more than 3 days) but I do feel like I want to eat healthier now. Also getting a programmed cleanse, like I did with BluePrint, is very convenient. They ship all your juice right to your door so you don’t have to think about anything for the next 3 days. However, it is a bit pricey ($65 a day so $195 total). If you have the money to buy one and don’t want to have to buy ingredients and make them yourself than this is definitely the way to go!

Jessi’s Green Smoothie Cleanse Review
So I think I did pretty well with my green smoothie cleanse. I was hungry a lot, but luckily I was allowed to have snacks if I needed to. I didn’t really have a lot of snacks, just once a day in between lunch and dinner, but it helped.

The first day was the hardest. I had eaten more than I should have the day before so my body was trying to figure out why I wasn’t eating a lot. I was hungry practically all day. The next two days were not as bad. I think the smoothie that was the most filling was the Pineapple Kale Smoothie. This morning at Crossfit it was a little rough, but we made it through.

After 3 days of the green smoothie cleanse I lost about 5 pounds (4.7 to be exact) and I feel good. I also don’t feel very “cleansed” but maybe it’s because I normally have green smoothies and eat healthy (most of the time). The cleanse did help me realized how much i NEED to eat and how much I ACTUALLY eat. The smoothies were about 350-400 calories a day. The snacks didn’t add too much to it. It’s definitely not something to do all the time. I didn’t exercise too much while doing the cleanse and the little exercise I did I got tired very fast. I will definitely be keeping up the green smoothies for breakfast (I had one today) and eating healthier from now on. I loved how this kick started my weight loss!

Final Review
So the Blueprint Juice Cleanse was $195 for 3 days worth of juices. You get a lot of juice (6 per day) to help keep you full. They have 3 different “levels” of cleanses from beginner to advanced. Cheryl used the Renovation Cleanse which is the beginner one.

The 10-Day Green Smoothie Cleanse was $10 to purchase on my Kindle. I flipped through and picked 3 smoothie recipes that were different from each other, but also sounded tasty. I purchased all the ingredients at the supermarket the day before I started the cleanse. The ingredients were roughly $30 (I have a bunch of stuff left over too). The green smoothie cleanse also had a beginner and advanced level. The beginner level has you having a smoothie for breakfast and lunch, but then a healthy (portion-controlled) dinner. I did the more advanced 3 smoothie meals and limited snacks.

So for someone who has the money to spend on a juice cleanse I say go for it. It is definitely worth trying if you want to kick start your weight loss. A green smoothie cleanse is also very healthy and not as expensive. I give both a thumbs up. We both lost weight and feel great!

Disclaimer: The Blueprint Cleanse was provided for free, but all comments are my own

One thought on “Juice Cleanse vs. Green Smoothie Cleanse – The Results

  1. Pingback: Instagramming: July 2014 | The Simple Things

Leave a Reply

