Juice Cleanse vs. Smoothie Cleanse – Day 1

So as I mentioned yesterday, Cheryl and I are doing a cleanse challenge to see which is easier and works better. I will be doing 3 days of the 10 Day Green Smoothie Cleanse and Cheryl is doing 3 days of the Blueprint Cleanse.

Cheryl’s Juice Cleanse Day 1 Review
So there are a few rules to follow with my Juice Cleanse.
1) Don’t Eat! but if I need to I can munch on a few pieces of celery or 1/4 of an avocado.
2) The last drink has to be 2 hours before you go to sleep.

So I planned my first day of the cleanse by thinking backwards. I figured that I would go to sleep around 10pm. I worked backward and saw my last juice would be at 8pm which meant I needed my first at 10am.

The morning started off ok. First I went to 5:30am crossfit. We did a 3×10 bench press then 8 rounds of 10 burps, 12 kettle bell swings and 40 double unders. I wanted to go to crossfit before I started the cleanse in case I was too weak/tired/hungry during the cleanse.

I made myself a green tea before I went to crossfit and another as I was getting ready for work. I got on the bus around 8am to get to work and I was hungry by 10am and ready for my juice. I think the hardest part of a cleanse is smelling other peoples food. At my work we have a “free” table where people put food/clothes/gadgets they got in the mail that they don’t want. The free table is almost ALWAYS stacked with food. A lot of it is healthier like KIND bars and snacks, but not always. My problem is seeing good food on the free table up for grabs and not sneaking a bite, but I was able to hold back on my temptations yesterday.

All in all I think the cleanse is going well. The hardest time for me was around 6pm. I had the beet juice on the bus ride home but couldn’t drink water after because I forgot to bring some on the bus with me. I was ready for my last juice by 6:30pm (but I couldn’t have it yet!) I held out though and waited until 8pm to drink it. Oh wow let me tell you the cashew milk juice is AMAZING. It tastes like a milkshake compared to the other juices and it’s definitely what I needed by the end of the day.

I’m feeling good today. Have to wait another 2 hours before my first juice but if I can do 1 day, why not 3? Let’s see how it goes!

Jessica’s Green Smoothie Cleanse Day 1 Review
So I started my morning off yesterday by making my Peach Berry Smoothie and breaking it into 3 containers. Two containers I brought with me to work. I didn’t really plan my day out as well as Cheryl did. I made myself a green tea for the drive to work. I usually have coffee but they don’t recommend it on the cleanse. I had my first smoothie as soon as I got to work around 9am. It was good and filled me up (not as much as smoothies made with milk but enough). So I continued on with my day drinking water. One good think about being busy at work is time seems to go a lot faster. I looked at the clock when I was starting to feel hungry and it was 1pm. The cleanse suggested having a smoothie or snack every 3-4 hours so it was a perfect time. I went and had my second smoothie I had put in the fridge.

Around 2:30pm I decided I needed to get out of the office. I had skipped crossfit in the morning because I didn’t sleep well the night before. Since Cheryl had exercised I knew I had to so we could accurately compare the cleanses. I decided to go to the gym and walk on the treadmill for 20 minutes. I threw some slow jogs in between randomly. After I did some ab work and some strength stuff then headed back to work.

When I got back to the office I was STARVING. I had packed celery with me because I have a second job that I go to until around 8pm. Since my last smoothie was at 1pm I technically needed something around 5pm to keep my cleanse in check. I had the celery on the drive to my second job. I worked there until around 8pm then headed home. I had my last smoothie around 9pm. I was pretty hungry when I had my last smoothie and it didn’t really fill me up, but I just sucked it up and went to bed.

The Peach Berry Smoothie was pretty good. It wasn’t as “green” as most are because the blueberries are a pretty strong color.

Day 2
So today is day 2 of the cleanse. Both Cheryl and I skipped crossfit this morning because the last thing I want to do is embarrass myself and pass out. Cheryl drinks the same juices each day for 3 days so she knows what they taste like now. Today I made the Pineapple Kale Smoothie.

Pineapple Kale Smoothie
2 handfuls kale
1 handful spring mix greens
2 cups water
1 1/2 cup frozen peaches
2 cups pineapple chunks
2 packets truvia
2 tbsp. ground flaxseeds

I read the directions before making the smoothie today. You are supposed to blend the greens and water first and then add the rest of the ingredients.

Just had my first smoothie and it wasn’t as bad as I thought it would be. I am not the biggest kale fan. Going to try and walk the neighborhood after work today (and make Cheryl come with me).

Leave a Reply

