Friday Favorites

Ahh Friday! I wish Friday was part of the weekend to be honest. I mean who thought it was fair to have 5 days of work and only two days of rest. Luckily my office has summer hours which means on Fridays we have to get here early (8am) and we get to leave early (1pm). Hey better than nothing! This week I decided to share some of my favorite stories and links.

Favorite Gadget
Jawbone UP

Jawbone UP

So I have had the Jawbone for a while. My sister got it for me for Christmas, but I have to admit the past couple months I had lost it. Well the other day during a cleaning frenzy I found it! What I love about the Jawbone is it connects to my iPhone (via the headphone jack) to upload all my steps for the day. It also has a sleep mode which lets me know how long I slept in REM vs. light sleep. I also have it set so if I am inactive for more than an hour (like most days at my desk) it will vibrate to remind me to get up and walk around. I also just connected it to my MyFitnessPal app which I have been using to track my food. They also make a wireless version of the Jawbone UP but it takes .5 seconds to plug it in so I didn’t see the need for the more expensive one.

Favorite Music
Capital Cities

Capital Cities

Cheryl and I will be running the Sea Wheeze Half Marathon in August in Vancouver. It is sponsored by Lululemon so there is a lot of yoga involved too. They have a post race festival in the park with a bunch of bands and the headliner is Capital Cities. I decided to check them out and I really like their sound. I am pretty sure I have heard One More Minute on the radio before.

Favorite Recipe
Quinoa Salad with Spicy Peanut Dressing

Quinoa Salad with Spicy Peanut Dressing

So I just discovered a new blog that I LOVE. It’s called Runs for Cookies. It’s written by a blogger named Katie. She has some really great motivating posts about running and weight loss and also some fabulous recipes. I cannot wait to try this one for Quinoa Salad with Spicy Peanut Dressing.

Favorite Drink
Dunkin’ Donuts Cookie Dough Iced Coffee

Cookie Dough Iced Coffee

Have you tried this yet? If not please try it and don’t blame me when you get addicted. I love flavored coffee. To be honest I really cannot drink black coffee unless I have to. Most of the time I just add a little creamer, but sometimes you need a treat and this is it. Dunkin’ Donuts teamed up with Baskin Robbins to create this nectar of the Gods. Cookie Dough Iced Coffee! The stats aren’t horrible and really the taste puts every other coffee flavor to shame. I usually get it black since the syrup is enough milk/sugar for me. Don’t say I didn’t warn you!

Favorite CANNOT WAIT TV Show
Girl Meets World

Girl Meets World

TONIGHT! Finally after seeing Instagram posts and news stories about it for months tonight it the premiere of Girl Meets World. Anyone who grew up in the 90’s loved watching Boy Meets World (I mean if you didn’t what was wrong with you haha). Cory and Topanga FOREVER! Estelle from This Happy Place blog really sums up how the show (and others like it) touched all us 90’s kids. Now Cory and Topanga are all grown up with kids of their own. I really hope this show does well. I can image it being a huge success because of adults like me that want to see the new family (and a few old favorite friends stop by).

Favorite App
Timehop

Timehop

Ever sit around and wonder what you were doing this time last year and how your life has changed (for better or worse). Well Timehop can help you with that! When you download it you can link any of your social media sites you use like Facebook, Instagram, Foursquare, Twitter, etc. Then each day your Timehop will show you what you posted or wrote the year before, two years before, three years before, etc. It’s pretty cool to see old picture or posts and say “wow I remember that”.

Not a Favorite News Story
Jillian Michaels leaving Biggest Loser

Jillian Michaels

Say it ain’t so Jillian! It was just announced that Jillian Michaels will not be returning for the Biggest Loser. Everyone was stunned (I was frankly upset) when last season Rachel Frederickson lost 155 pounds and weighed in at 105 pounds (she started at 260!) Jillian said she was very upset that no one was checking in on Rachel and how much weight she was loosing. She said she was concerned with the way the show handled everything. There is probably a few other reasons she is leaving, but I am pretty sad. She was the reason I watched the show. The seasons she wasn’t on were not my favorite. Hopefully they bring in another great female trainer (not Kim) to replace her. I mean the show was only improved once they added Dolvett. A female version of Dolvett would be a fabulous addition!

Well that is it for me this Friday. Have a great weekend!

One thought on “Friday Favorites

Leave a Reply

