Friday Favorites

Well really the only good thing about this week is it is finally over. Most people that know me know that I am kind of a control freak. I need to know what is going to happen. I try to be spontaneous but that just gives me anxiety usually (unless I have been drinking then it’s a free for all)

The past few weeks there have been whispering at my job about remodeling the office. Now this isn’t the first office remodel since I have been working here. In December 2010 they decided we needed new cubes in cubeland. I loved the old cubes. Lots of storage and high walls. They also put new carpet down which SMELLED. I was on the verge of getting nauseous from the smell.

Now our company used to take up the entire top floor of our building. I guess rent got expensive, who knows, but they decided to condense our office the following year to make room for another company on our floor. This was a long renovation. I had a great spot in cubeland next to the window. With the remodel they had decided to move our whole department to the other side of the building. After some finagling we were able to figure out how to get 3 cubes outside our boss’ office. My cube had to be smaller since it was in an awkward corner, but now I love it.

We moved into our new home in August 2011. Ever since this has been our sanctuary. I love where I sit. We can control the lights so instead of the harsh overhead lights we turn those off and use desk lamps. It’s very helpful for us art people who have to stare at a monitor all day, every day. We have also had a lot of fun in our sanctuary. We decorate our cubes and go all out on birthdays and holidays.

Well now all of that is about to change. The company next door wants to expand more and for some reason the owner of my company decided to get rid of our sanctuary (closest to the other office) and make our lives miserable. Myself and my two art girls will be moved into an office really only build for 2 people. We have been taking measurements for days and the amount of personal space each of us is going to be getting is ridiculous. Other people are being moved all over the office. I am pretty upset about the whole thing (especially they way my company handled it) but there is really nothing I can do about it but complain and then move on.

So on to the Friday Favorites!

My second job is also in the process of moving locations. So much moving I don’t know how I am going to handle it all! Since it will be a brand new empty space I have been trying to figure out ways to keep us organized and make it pretty at the same time. I love this simple idea by Miss Dixie of keeping everything clutter free in boxes and organized on a shelf.

Office Organization

I also am very passive aggressive when it comes to telling people how I feel. It’s not the right way to go about things, but it is what I do. I plan on hanging a lot of posters like this one in our new office to demonstrate how people annoy me.

Inside Voice

I am still trying to eat healthy. It hash’t been working though. I eat when I am sad, stressed, depressed, you name it. I do want to try this delicious looking tropical green smoothie Catherine from Rabbit Food for my Bunny Teeth made.

Tropical Green Smoothie

We did try one new recipe this week! I had found these delicious looking Sweet Potato Corn Cakes a few weeks ago and have been wanting to try them. Well they were delicious and will definitely be made again!

Sweet Potato Cakes

Lastly I am in a rut. Running has been awful on the dreadmill all the time so I hope this weather ends soon. In the meantime I want to try something new. I keep reading about all these people doing crossfit and even though my friends think I will get “butch” looking I really don’t care. I need to try something that makes me feel empowered and I think crossfit might be it. Cheryl and I are going to a free trial class at a place by our house on Saturday. Wish us luck!

Crossfit

Have a good weekend everyone!

One thought on “Friday Favorites

  1. Pingback: Office Renovations…Again | The Simple Things

Leave a Reply

