Cocoa-Banana Smoothie

I didn’t realize until after I posted yesterday that it was my 100th blog post!

Today I am sharing a delicious smoothie recipe with you. My sister Cheryl, as you well know, works for SELF. She decided to do their new 7 Day Detox and blog about her experience on the SELF blog.

This detox is not a liquid detox or a cleanse, there is food involved. Every day, though, starts out with a smoothie. One smoothie on the list caught my interest and I decided to try it out. Let me tell you it was delicious! The one out there ingredient is tofu. You might be thinking that tofu in a smoothie would be gross but it gave it such a rich and smooth consistency. I will definitely be making this one again.

SELF 7 Day Detox Cocoa-Banana Smoothie
1 ripe banana
1 1/2 tbsp cocoa powder
1 tbsp plus 1 tsp almond butter
3 oz silken tofu (1/3 cup cubes)
1 cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk
1 cup ice cubes

I made the smoothie in my Magic Bullet which I love. First I added a banana.

Next I added the cocoa powder. This was the main reason I wanted to try this smoothie. I have been craving chocolate the last few days but didn’t want to eat a chocolate bar so I figured this was the next best thing.

Next I added the almond butter. I used to have a hard time finding almond butter that wasn’t crazy expensive. Luckily JIF just started making some that I can buy right in the supermarket.

Next I cut up and weighed out 3 oz of tofu. I always forget how much I like tofu until I have it again.

I love Silk Unsweetened Vanilla Almond Milk. I always eat it with my cereal instead of regular skim milk because it always gives it a little more flavor and it’s a lot thicker than regular skim milk.

And finally I blended it all together!

 

Sorry my pictures are horrible. I need to designate and area of my kitchen to be able to take fancier pictures for future recipes.

If you have time this week definitely try out this smoothie!

Leave a Reply

