Be The Bar

So in May I had written about how I wanted to change up my routine a little with a new type of class. Well I finally decided on Bar Method.

Bar Method

The studio near my work had a one month new client special I decided to try. I wasn’t really sure what to expect. I thought a lot of stretching or maybe dancing? What I got was one intense, ass-kicking workout! Most classes change depending on the instructor, but the order is usually the same. I am going to go over a typical class in case you want to try it out you know what to expect.

The class starts out with marching (I feel like I am back in band) followed by arms. You are asked to take 2 sets of weights, light and heavy. I luckily started with 2 and 3 pounds. The arm workouts are small movements but you can really feel the muscles. After weights you do push ups (still working on doing them not on my knees) and reverse push ups. Next you put the weights away and stand next to the bar to stretch. This is one of my favorite parts. You do each leg like you see ballerinas do.

Bar Method

Next is calf raises. These hurt but they aren’t too much. After every intense exercise there is a round of stretching. They tout stretching to elongate your limbs. After that is thigh work. It varies by class but majority is standing on your toes (as much as you can) tucking your butt under and squatting. They say “shaking” is good for you but once I start shaking I have to keep taking little breaks. I am working on going all the way through though.

Bar Method

Next is seat (butt) work. This is why I wanted to take these classes and the different types of exercises are all over the place. There is floor work called a pretzel that I still cannot do but I am working on it. My butt is always sore the next few hours and even days.

Bar Method

The next part I am not sure what to call it. It works bot your legs and abs. You sit under the bar holding on and bring your leg in as close to your body as you can. Picture might work best.

Bar Method

After that is ab work. I still don’t feel it when I do this part. I think I am tensing my back too much but I have been slowly working on my posture to feel it. After abs is butt dancing haha. It’s interesting and a killer on your butt and thighs.

During my one month trial I went 4-5 days a week. I decided to extend 2 more months since it is too hot to run right now. I am really enjoying it. Not sure if it is doing anything for my body. I forgot to take my measurements beforehand and I have also still been slacking in the diet department, but it’s something new and fun that I enjoy going to. I mean you won’t work out unless you enjoy it.

I also bought a groupon for Krav Manga classes so excited to do those too!

Leave a Reply

