Throwback Thursday – Something Corporate

When I was a junior in high school we had a film festival. I was in CAST and everyone had to make a film. We decided to collaborate with my friend Brandon and he had a song in mind from a band he recently started listening to. The band was Something Corporate and the song was Konstantine. The idea was unrequited love of two friends. We filmed Frank singing the song in a parking garage all night. I think it took until 3am. He didn’t know the lyrics so we had to keep re-shooting. The rest we did all over Clifton with our other friends. Being that it is such a long song we really could tell a story. Watch the video here.

The band started in Orange County, California in 1998. The lead singer is my all time favorite musician Andrew McMahon.

Something Corporate{Source}

Andrew was unique because not only was he the lead singer. He also played the piano. I dubbed the genre of this band Piano Rock.

Andrew McMahon{Source}

I mean he seriously rocked out. Most times he stood up or stood on the piano! Don’t believe me? This is my favorite song. The band had almost an underground following. They weren’t on the radio, but they were pretty popular (at least in PA)

In 2004 the band took a hiatus. During that time Andrew started wiritng with a side band called Jack’s Mannequin. Andrew changed up his look a little as well.

Jack's Mannequin{Source}

In 2005 I heard very sad news. Andrew had been diagnosed with acute lymphoblastic leukemia, but has since gone into remission.

Andrew McMahon

In 2009 Andrew started touring again. This time it was just him and his piano. The shows were small and intimate. Cheryl and I drove to Philly to see him at World Live Cafe. (Sorry for the crappy photo)

Andrew McMahon World Live Cafe

In 2010 Andrew announced that Something Corporate would be having a reunion tour at Bamboozle in California. I honestly contemplated getting a plane ticket just to see Something Corporate perform one more time together. As luck would have it a few weeks later they announced they would also be playing in Chicago and East Rutherford, NJ! I grew out of Bamboozle, but I roughed it in the hot sun with the high school kids just to see SoCo play together again <3

Something Corporate Bamboozle NJ

Since then all I have had to listen to was my CD’s of Something Coporate and Jack’s Mannequin. I followed bothon Facebook, but in August of last year Jack’s Mannequin started posting about AndrewMcMahon.com with new merchandise and news. Andrew is now touring solo singing BOTH Something Coporate and Jack’s Mannequin songs. He is also in the process of releasing his first solo album The Pop Underground.

Something Corporate and Jack’s Mannequin both had different vibes to their music, but the one thing they had in common was Andrew. My goal in life is to meet that man one day.

Yesterday Cheryl and I dragged out friend Ray with us to Philadelphia to the TLA to see Andrew play. It was an amazing concert. More Jack’s then SoCo but he did play Konstantine and it made my night.

I mean how can you not love this man.

Andrew McMahon

His wife is one lucky lady!

One thought on “Throwback Thursday – Something Corporate

  1. Pingback: Throwback Thursday – Andrew McMahon is a friend of mine | The Simple Things

Leave a Reply

