I know who is it but I’m not telling…ha ha

So perusing the internet (which I do a lot) I always see toys and games from the 90’s that we wish were still around. I mean there are a lot of things from my childhood I am glad are gone…beanie babies, moon shoes, dial up internet….you get the idea. Going through all the nostalgia got me thinking though that there are a few board games I really wish I still had so I could play them with my younger cousins (and one day kids). In no particular order…here are a few.

Pretty Pretty Princess

Pretty Pretty Princess

Developed in 1990 by Hasbro this is a a given for all girls that grew up in the 90’s. A game where you collect jewelry and dress up and the one that gets all the jewelry in there color (without getting the black ring) wins! I remember Cheryl and I playing this game all the time. I even have some blackmail photos of my cousin Danny being forced to play with us. The game goes online for about $50 now and I am pretty sure they still make some version of the game but from Disney to dress as a princess. Still not the original.

Ask Zandar

Ask Zandar

This was probably not one of the more popular games but Cheryl and I loved it. Developed in 1992 by Milton Bradley this game was kind of like an electronic magic 8 ball. You pick a card, make a guess and Ask Zandar by waving your hand over the top and he would answer yes or no. If you got it right you got a gem of your color. If you got it wrong you had to put a gem back. First one to five gems won!

Mall Madness

Mall Madness

Shopping mall fun from your own home without spending real money. Sign me up! ATTENTION MALL SHOPPERS this game was developed in 1990 by Milton Bradley as a “teen” girl game. You get a list of 6 items you have to buy at the mall. You press the console in the middle and it will tell you where to move and who has the best sales, but hurry your friends may try to beat you to the bargains! You get a credit card that you swipe to either buy an item or not. First with all their 6 items to make it to the parking lot wins! Now I know why so many people are in credit card debrt. We learned young!

Pizza Party

Pizza Party

Move aside boring old memory. This was my game. Developed in 1987 by Parker Brothers, this was a kids memory game. You get a slice color and one by one flip over the ingredient discs in the middle. If it is not your ingredient flip it back over. First to get everything on their slice wins! And this must also be where my love of pizza came from.

Shark Attack

Shark Attack

Not one of the typical 90’s board games but still one I remember playing a lot. Developed in 1988 by Hasbro this was a race against a shark. You rolled the dice to move your fish around the game board. After every roll you pressed the shark and it moved ahead. You never knew how many spaces it was going to move. Your goal was to keep your fish ahead of the shark so it didn’t get eaten!

You are probably sitting there thinking that there is one amazing game I am missing. Of course I am saving the best for last AND I also splurged a few years ago and bought the original off eBay

Dream Phone

Dream Phone

One of my favorite 90’s games. I loved it so much I paid $50 for the original version on eBay! Developed in 1991 by Milton Bradley, if you were a girl that grew up in the 90’s and you never played this game you had a sad, sad life. But really what other game could you use this awesome phone to call you your “crush” to see if he liked you or not. Every girl knew what boy they thought was the cutest (ya you Steve) and the ones they didn’t (sorry Jason that’s you). You got a group of your girlfriends together, maybe even for a sleepover, and the game was on. Draw a card and call him up. First you would get a clue about your secret admirer. Make sure you keep track! Then you search the cards on the gameboard to see what guy has most of the traits. Then once you think you know you call up that boy and guess. Hopefully you are right and you would hear “You’re right! I really like you!” If not you got the always heartbreaking response “I know who it is, but I’m not telling. HA HA” I honestly writing this can hear it in my head!

So those are a few of the games of my childhood I really miss. They don’t make them like that anymore. Any games you love that I missed?

4 thoughts on “I know who is it but I’m not telling…ha ha

  1. Oh man, I thought we were the only ones who had Pizza Party!!!!
    I remember Perfection as a major player in our house. how annoying that must have been for my mom to listen to for hours on end.

    Like

Leave a Reply

