Pretzel Chicken and Mustard Cheddar Sauce

Now for the main event!

I found this recipe originally here. I revised a few things to make it healthier and it was delicious! A few things I will change next time, but definitely a great dinner.

I started out with my pretzels. I got the fat-free mini ones. I put them in a bag and got my anger out by crushing them. Next time I think I will blend them in my Magic Bullet so that it’s more like a bread crumb consistency.

Next I got my egg soak ready.

Now I set up all my ingredients. I had my chicken pieces, my egg soak and my pretzels.

First you take the chicken and dip it in the egg soak until it is saturated.

Then you transfer the chicken to the pretzel crumbs. This part would have been easier if the pretzel crumbs were a finer consistency.

The original recipe called to next saute the chicken in a pan on the stove. I always prefer baking my chicken in the oven so I transferred the chicken to a baking sheet and threw it in the oven.

While my chicken was baking I started on the sauce. First I melted my butter in a saucepan on the stove.

Then I added the flour.

Next I added the milk and mustard and whisked it all together.

Finally I added the cheese. Once it was all melted I turned it on low and stirred every few minutes so it wouldn’t burn.

Once my chicken was done I topped it with the mustard cheese sauce. I paired it with my cauliflower mashiesΒ and voila! A filling, delicious dinner for not a lot of points! Definitely a dish I will be making again.

Pretzel Chicken and Mustard Cheddar Sauce
Serves 4 | 8 Points + per serving

Ingredients
12 oz. boneless, skinless chicken breasts
3 oz. salted pretzels, finely crushed
2 eggs
1 tbsp. light butter
1 tbsp. flour
1 cup skim milk
1 tbsp. spicy mustard
1 cup shredded fat-free cheddar cheese
Salt and pepper to taste

Directions
Preheat the oven to 375.

You can start with either 2 pieces of chicken and then butterfly them and pound them flat OR 4 pieces of thinly sliced chicken.

Put the pretzels in a food processor and process until you have fine crumbs. Put the crumbs in a shallow dish and season with salt and pepper. In another shallow dish, beat the eggs.

Dip each chicken piece into the egg, then into the pretzels, coating both sides. Add to a baking sheet lined with parchment paper. Repeat for all the chicken and then sprinkle extra pretzel crumbs over the top. Place in oven and bake for 20 minutes or until cooked through.

Meanwhile, make the sauce. In a saucepan, melt the butter. Whisk in the flour, followed by the milk and mustard. Cook for 1 minute until slightly thickened. Stir in the cheese. Season with salt and pepper if needed. Each piece of chicken get’s roughly 1/4 cup sauce.

Leave a Reply

