Cauliflower Mashies

Tuesdays is the one day a week I actually have time to make dinner. I am hoping I can keep it up because this weeks recipes were delicious!

I am going to start with my side dish. I have been seeing recipes for mashed “potatoes” but with cauliflower instead. Most of them seemed difficult, but I found one yesterday that seemed simple enough.

So you start with a head of cauliflower.

Next time I might buy a bag of the florets but it wasn’t too difficult to break up. I just used a knife and hacked away at it.

Next you want to add the cauliflower pieces to a pot of water and turn the heat on high. Now the process of waiting for it to boil begins.

After the water starts to boil the cauliflower should be fork tender which means its done! Throw it in a strainer to get rid of the excess water. Then transfer it to a large bowl.

This next step I am definitely doing different next time. I added the butter, milk, chicken broth and garlic to the bowl. Then I used a hand mixed and started to mix. Well that was a bad idea. The cauliflower pieces are not like potatoes they are thin and stringy and did not mix well. After about 10 minutes of using the mixer I almost gave up.

I decided to transfer the pieces to my Magic Bullet and blend them instead. That did the trick! Next time I will start with everything in a blender or see if my immersion blender works better. I added a little salt and pepper to it, but I didn’t have the chives which would have made it really great. Can’t wait to try this again!

Cauliflower Mashies
Serves 3 | 1 Points + per serving

Ingredients
1 head cauliflower
1 tbsp. light butter
1/4 cup skim milk
1/2 tbsp. fat-free chicken broth
1/2 tbsp. garlic
1/2 tbsp. chives, chopped

Directions
Break cauliflower into chunks and boil until fork tender. Remove from water and place in blender.

Add butter, milk, chicekn broth and garlic. Blend until smooth. Add chives and serve.

One thought on “Cauliflower Mashies

  1. Pingback: Pretzel Chicken and Mustard Cheddar Sauce | The Simple Things

Leave a Reply

