Thai Turkey Burgers with Peanut Sauce

I was finally able to cook last night! I work 2 jobs and on the days I don’t have my second job I, as of late, have been running errands. Yesterday I was finally able to cook a new recipe I have been wanting to try. Pinterest tortures me with delicious looking recipes every day. Sadly, being on Weight Watchers, not all the recipes work for my family.

Yesterday I made Thair Turkey Burgers with Peanut Sauce.

I love burgers, but I love healthy burgers even better. This recipe called for ground turkey instead of your traditional ground beef.

The first thing you do is make the peanut sauce. You create peanut sauce by combining all the sauce ingredients in a blender. I used my magic bullet.

Blend until very smooth. Then reserve 2 tbsp. plus 2 tsp. and set aside.

Next we are going to make the patties.

First I chopped up all the vegetables finely and added them to the turkey meat. I used a chopping machine so I didn’t have to finely chop everything with a knife.

After you have chopped all the vegetables add the seasoning to the turkey meat. Finally add the rest of the peanut sauce that you didn’t reserve to the meat.

Now you need to mix it all! I used a spatula at first but eventually decided to get down and dirty and mixed it really well will my hands (washed of course)! Next you form 4 patties. First I made 4 circles to try and get them all the same size.

Time to grill! I can’t wait to make these again when the weather is warmer on the grill outside. For now I used a pan on my stovetop. After I was done grilling I also put them in the oven to make for a little while. You want to make sure they are fully cooked!

My family LOVES grilled mushrooms and onions on burgers so I whipped up a few of those as well.

Time to put them together! First you add 2 tsp of the reserved peanut sauce. Then I added some baby spinach and some of the grilled mushrooms and onions.

And voila! These things were delicious. I also made some broccoli and cauliflower as a side. Such a great meal I can’t wait to make it again.

Thai Turkey Burgers with Peanut Sauce
Makes 4 burgers | 9PP Each

Ingredients
1 lb 93% fat-free lean ground turkey breast
1/2 cup shredded carrot
1/2 cup finely chopped broccoli
3 tbsp. chopped cilantro
1 green onion, sliced
1/2 tsp. salt
1/2 tsp. red pepper flakes
4 Arnold sandwich thins
baby spinach leaves

For the peanut sauce
2 tbsp. smooth peanut butter
1 tbsp. rice vinegar
1 tbsp. soy sauce
1 tbsp. water
1 clove garlic
1 tsp. dark sesame oil
1 tsp. chili garlic sauce (could use siracha)
1 tsp. honey
1/4 tsp. ground ginger

Directions
Create peanut sauce by combining peanut butter, rice vinegar, soy sauce, water, garlic, sesame oil, chili garlic sauce, honey and ground ginger in a food processor or blender. Blend until very smooth. Reserve 2 Tablespoons + 2 teaspoons and set aside.

Combine remaining peanut sauce with turkey, carrots, broccoli, green onion, cilantro, salt and red pepper flakes in a large bowl. Mix well and form into 4 patties. Heat a large skillet over medium-high heat and spray with non-stick spray. Cook patties for 3-4 minutes on one side, then spray the top with more non-stick spray. Flip and cook for 3-4 more minutes or until burgers are no longer pink in the middle.

Place a burger patty on each bun and top with 2 teaspoons of the reserved peanut sauce. Add baby spinach for crunch and serve.

Leave a Reply

