STRIKE!

Wow lack of posting lately! We had a long weekend with President’s Day and getting back I was swamped with work.

So this past Sunday was our last day of bowling. We joined a team league in NYC for winter. Our team name was Set It and Forget It. I started out the season horribly. I had not bowled in a while and it took me a few games to get better. Luckily my friend Ray went with me to practice during the week a few weeks ago and I perfected my game (yay $1.50 bowling!) This past Sunday was our final game and I was able to achieve the highest score I ever bowled a 168!

The entire time we were in the league and really since I ever started bowling I still don’t understand how they score it or how a person (AKA my father) could bowl a perfect score of 300! So I decided to research the art of scoring a bowling game and here are the basics.

1. Knocking down all 10 pins the first time is a strike
2. Knocking down all 10 pins after the second time is a spare
3. If you leave any pins up after both times it is called an open frame
4. A strike is worth 10 points plus the value of your next two rolls
5. Your score adds like this (10 + ? + ?) so if you bowl a strike then a 6 and a 2 your score for the first frame is 18
6. A spare is worth 10 points plus your next roll
7. Your score adds like this (10 + ?) so if you bowl a strike then a 7 your first frame is 17

Here is a score breakdown because even I am still confused

Score Breakdown "The Simple Things"

I think my problem is I never added more points to my strike I always just kept a running total of my pins knocked down which is WRONG.

I hope I can keep up with my good bowling or even get better in the future.

Team Set It and Forget It (minus Cheryl)

Leave a Reply

