Green Monster Smoothie

So I have been doing well post Military Diet with my eating. I have also been perusing Pinterest for ideas and a bunch of blogs I now subscribe to. I never used Google Reader until recently. My coworker swears by it and I decided to condense all the bookmarked blogs into one place. I love it. My morning routine is now so much easier that all my blogs are in one place and it lets me know if there are new posts I don’t have to click through every one.

One of my favorite blogs is Iowa Girl Eats. She makes amazing recipes and loves to run and travel (just like me)! Last week I came across her recipe for a Green Monster Smoothie. It seemed interesting and this morning I thought I would give it a try. Again please pardon my pictures for not being as photogenic as some blogs. I think I am going to make a big box to take my recipe photos in from now on haha.

I altered a few items. She said to slice and freeze the banana first which I forgot to do last night so I used a fresh banana and I used reduced-fat peanut butter.

Green Monster Spinach Smoothie

Ingredients:
1 frozen sliced banana
1 tablespoon reduced-fat peanut butter
1/2 cup (or 5 oz.) Chobani 0% Vanilla Greek Yogurt
1 cup Unsweetened Vanilla Almond Breeze
4 cups baby spinach

Directions:
Combine all ingredients in a blender and blend until smooth.

Weight Watchers: 5 Points+ for entire recipe

So I gathered all my ingredients together.

I did not have a blender. We bought one a few months ago and it died after the first use. Instead I used my trusty magic bullet. First I added all the ingredients except the spinach.

Because the magic bullet is small I had to add a little spinach then empty half the glass into a cup. I then added more spinach and kept alternating batches with more spinach until I had about 4 cups.

After a few alternating blendings and some taste tests I decided that the smoothie was done!

In Disney a few weeks ago I snagged this awesome vintage looking tumbler. It’s ceramic and perfect for morning smoothies. I have to say it was delicious. You really couldn’t taste the spinach it was mostly the peanut butter (yum) and a hint of banana. Cheryl hates banana but I don’t see why you can’t alter the recipe with other fruits. I can’t wait to make this before my soon to be taking CKO kickboxing classes. Still full!

2 thoughts on “Green Monster Smoothie

  1. I love your tumbler and I adore this smoothie. I’ve just gotten so lazy in the morning making them :( UGH. Horrible because I really did feel energetic when I was making them on a more regular basis. I wonder if I could make them the night before and they would still taste okay. Hmm…

    Loving all your updates lately, and yes Google Reader is the best. If you saw the amount of blogs I keep up with you would probably pass out.

    Happy early birthday my dear! (Be sure to pass on the same to Cheryl!)

    Like

Leave a Reply

