The Military Diet – Part 1

So I was going to wait and do this post on Thursday after the 3 day diet was over, but I am completely miserable right now and I need to explain why.

So a few weeks ago Cheryl and I ran the WDW Marathon and loved every second of it. Now most people would think that in the process of training for a marathon you would loose a ton of weight. And to be honest the first few I ran was what helped me loose all my weight. The problem with trying to maintain your weight and training is it is difficult. I would eat healthy all week long, but eat a little more on days I would run outside or at the gym, depending on the milage. The problem arose when we did our long weekend runs. We would run up to 20 miles. Which would take about 4 hours. Honestly what do you eat after running 20 miles, for 4 hours, burning 3000 calories? We would come home and not necessarily go crazy but eat more than we should. All in all I gained about 10 pounds training for Disney.

The other problem is the post run food. The few days right after the run we were in Disney still and tempted by all the delicious food. I didn’t eat horrible, but I ate more than I should. The eating combined with the walking evened out and I came home the same weight I was when I left…10 pounds more than I should be. Now I am not a “scale” person. I don’t rate my attitude or self worth by the number I see on the scale. My problem is Weight Watchers. I am a lifetime member and to be able to go to the meetings for free weekly you have to be within 3 pounds of your goal weight. Mine is 10 pounds less than what I am now. This is my predicament.

I knew that I was eating horrible the past few weeks but I got on an “I don’t care kick.” I mean really I just ran a marathon I can have sushi for lunch or chinese food for dinner. Then I realized that the Princess Half Marathon is only 25 days away! I have only been to the gym once since the marathon, but most of that is to blame on the horrible cold I had when I got back. I am back to feeling up to running again and decided I needed to kick start my healthy eating. That is where the Military Diet comes in.

I saw it pinned over and over again on Pinterest. People claiming you can loose up to 10 pounds in 3 days. I thought if anything it will make me more conscious of what I am eating and shock my body to be ready for training again. So Cheryl and I both decided to start on Monday. Today is Tuesday and I am crashing. I really don’t have a problem with the food. It is the lack of sugar and caffeine that is doing me in. I have a splitting headache at the moment with no end in sight.

So here is the diet plan:
Day 1
Breakfast: 1/2 grapefruit, 1 slice whole wheat toast, 2 tbsp. peanut butter (I used reduced fat) and coffee or tea
Lunch: 1/2 cup tuna, 1 slice whole wheat toast and coffee or tea
Dinner: 3 oz. any type of lean meat, 1 cup green beans, 1/2 banana, 1 small apple, 1 cup vanilla ice cream (I warmed up the apple over the ice cream yum!)

Day 2
Breakfast: 1 egg, 1 slice whole wheat toast, 1/2 banana
Lunch: 1 cup cottage cheese, 1 hard boiled egg, 5 saltine crackers
Dinner: 2 hot dogs (no bun), 1 cup broccoli, 1/2 cup carrots, 1/2 banana, 1/2 cup vanilla ice cream

Day 3
Breakfast: 5 saltine crackers, 1 slice cheddar cheese, 1 small apple
Lunch: 1 hard boiled egg, 1 slice whole wheat toast
Dinner: 1 cup tuna, 1/2 banana, 1 cup vanilla ice cream

So as you can see the food gets less and less each day. The first day was great. I drank tea and coffee and had my ice cream after dinner with my warmed up apple slices. Today breakfast was fine but I was starving by noon. I pushed it to 12:30 before I ate. Now my head feels like it is going to explode. I don’t drink coffee or tea everyday so I really think it is a sugar withdrawl I am going through now. But I am just thinking to myself that I can get through this and I will be much better off and less dependent after the 3 days.

I am going to attempt the gym after work. I work a second job some days but on the days I don’t if I go home right after work I tend to “graze” and I know I can’t do that so I will fill my time with the treadmill and lots of water!

I will do a part 2 on Thursday post diet.

Leave a Reply

